Jason Meyers
Jason Meyers

Jason Meyers
Clovis, CA

Jason Meyers, Cody Darrah Fill-In at Calistoga Speedway


Sprint Source

Jason Meyers, Cody Darrah Fill-In at Calistoga Speedway

Meyers takes over for Jason Johnson, Darrah for Daryn Pittman following injuries at Placerville Speedway
CALISTOGA, Calif. - April 10, 2015 - As the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series rolls into Calistoga (Calif.) Speedway for the Wine Country Outlaw Showdown this weekend, two former series regulars, Jason Meyers and Cody Darrah, will join the field, filling in for injured drivers Jason Johnson and Daryn Pittman.

Meyers, a two-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series champion and only series champion from California, will fill in for Johnson through the series' final four races in the Golden State.

"This is certainly not the circumstance I would have liked to be able to get back in the racecar but I am grateful to be able to help out and support Jason, Bobbi and their team," Meyers said. "I look forward to getting them some good finishes close to home and be of help to the team."

Johnson sustained a fractured back in a crash at Placerville Speedway on Wednesday. The driver has left the hospital but a timetable for his return is still uncertain. Johnson's wife Bobbi said doctors have told them Johnson's recovery will likely take between six and 12 weeks.

The team will stay out with the series with support from sponsors Priority Aviation, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Fischer Body Shop, the Saich Family, Waco Metal, Dissolve Alloy and all other Jason Johnson Racing sponsors.

Meyers has 57 career Outlaws wins and series championships in 2010 and 2011.

Darrah will fill-in for Pittman, who sustained a broken collarbone in the same crash at Placerville, this weekend at Calistoga.

"It's one of the tough things about our sport," Darrah said. "We wish Daryn well as he goes into surgery today. To be able to fill-in for him is an honor. I'm happy to be out here to keep the seat warm for him while he gets better."

Darrah, a former full-time Kasey Kahne Racing with Mike Curb driver, is the 2011 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year recipient and a seven time series winner. He is running for his family-owned team in the UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions this season.

Tickets for both nights of the Wine Country Outlaw Showdown are still available and can be purchased at the Calistoga Speedway box office. Single day reserved tickets are $50 and single day general admission tickets are $45. General admission tickets for children 12 and under are $10. Two day ticket packages are also available.

CALISTOGA SPEEDWAY is asemi-banked, half-mile oval. The track record of 15.731 seconds was established by Joey Saldana on April 5, 2014. For more event information, visit http://woosprint.com/calistoga-speedway.

Previous A-Feature Winners
2014 - Brad Sweet on April 5, Daryn Pittman on April 6
2012 - Donny Schatz on Sept. 9
2011 - Jason Sides on April 2
2007 - Danny Lasoski on Sept. 1, Danny Lasoski on Sept. 2
2006 - Craig Dollansky on Sept. 3
2005 - Danny Lasoski on Sept. 3
2004 - Donny Schatz on Sept. 4
2003 - Danny Lasoski on Aug. 31
2002 - Daryn Pittman on Sept. 1
2001 - Jeff Shepard on Sept. 2
2000 - Danny Lasoski on Sept. 3
1999 - Sammy Swindell on Sept. 5
1998 - Stevie Smith on Sept. 6
1997 - Sammy Swindell on Aug. 31
1996 - Dave Blaney on Sept. 1
1995 - Steve Kinser on Sept. 3
1994 - Jeff Swindell on Sept. 4
1993 - Steve Kinser on Sept. 5
1992 - Steve Kinser on Sept. 6
1991 - Steve Kinser on Sept. 1
1990 - Sammy Swindell on Sept. 9
1989 - Jac Haudenschild on Sept. 10
1987 - Steve Kinser on Sept. 20
1986 - Doug Wolfgang on Oct. 19
1978 - Rick Ferkel on June 10, Johnny Anderson on Sept. 23

The following World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:
Jacob Allen - Shark1s1a.com
Craig Dollansky - DollanskyRacing.com
David Gravel - DavidGravel89g.com
Jason Johnson - JasonJohnsonRacing.com
Kraig Kinser - KraigKinser.com
Kerry Madsen - KenericRacing.com
Paul McMahan - PaulMcMahanRacing.com
Daryn Pittman - DarynPittman.com
Joey Saldana - JoeySaldanaRacing.com
Donny Schatz - DonnySchatz.com
Logan Schuchart - Shark1s1a.com
Jason Sides - SidesMotorsports.com
Shane Stewart - ShaneStewart.com
Brad Sweet - Bradsweetracing.com
For more driver information, visit: WoOsprint.com

SEASON WINNERS: Donny Schatz - 4 (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 28, Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 14, Stockton Dirt Track on March 21); Rico Abreu - 2 (Stockton Dirt Track on March 22, Thunderbowl Raceway on March 14); Daryn Pittman - 2 (Antioch Speedway on March 29, Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 13);Brian Brown - 1 (USA Raceway on March 7); Tim Kaeding - 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 13); Terry McCarl - 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 5); Shane Stewart - 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on March 5);Brad Sweet - 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15)

LISTEN LIVE: Watch and listen live to the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series at Calistoga Speedway onhttp://www.DIRTVision.com . Watch both days on DIRTVision MAX for $39.99. Sunday only pay-per-view of the Wine Country Outlaw Showdown is $24.99.

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series website at WoOsprint.com for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

GET SOCIAL: Follow the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series on Twitter at www.twitter.com/WorldofOutlaws, like it on Facebook at www.facebook.com/WorldofOutlaws, follow on Instagram at @WoOSprint or check out the latest videos on YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/WorldofOutlaws.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series ends its spring California run at Hanford (Calif.) Speedway on Friday, April 17 and Perris (Calif.) Auto Speedway on Saturday, April 18.

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads