Brian Murrell Jr
Brian Murrell Jr

Brian Murrell Jr
Mckinleyville, CA

2021 Redwood Acres Raceway Inaugural Hall Of Fame Class


Redwood Acres Raceway

Inaugural Hall Of Fame Inductions Highlight 2021 RAR Championship Banquet

Redwood Acres Raceway officially closed the 2021 season with the annual awards banquet. The event was held at the Eureka Elks Lodge this past Saturday November 7 and featured the crowning of champions in all local divisions as well as the top finishers in the Upstate Bomber Series. The banquet also featured the induction of the inaugural class for the Redwood Acres Raceway Hall of Fame.

The first inductees for the Hall of Fame are without question some of the most important people who have made an uncalculatable contribution to racing at Redwood Acres Raceway and the entire west coast region. Among the inductees were two-time track champion on the dirt and multi-time champion as a crew chief and mechanic, Casey Dungan; four-time track champion Angelo Marcelli; former Redwood Acres Raceway promoters of 26 years Rich & Linda Olson, three-time track champion on the dirt and two-time pavement track champion on the pavement Larry Pries and three-time dirt track champion, two-time pavement track champion and west coast racing legend Jim Walker.

The top three drivers and the top rookie in each division were honored for their efforts in 2021. David Henderson was the late model champion over Eugene Palmer and Scott Baker while Nick Ford was rookie of the year. The Legends championship was won by Brandon White with Chris Lawrence taking second. Third place Brett Murrell was also the rookie of the year for the Legends.

Tyler Krupa was the bomber champion and rookie of the year. He bested his sister Raquel Krupa and brother Jordan Krupa. Eric O’Ferrall beat out veteran Brian Murrell, Jr. for the mini stock title with Colton Kinsey earning third place and rookie of the year. Bob Ratzlaff narrowly won the roadrunner championship over Jeremiah Martin. Nick Ford finished third in points while Tanisha Ratzlaff’s impressive rookie season gave her the top rookie honor. The Upstate Bomber champion Trystan Mucci was honored for his effort this season. Loren Powers, Jr., Donnie Brown, Raquel Krupa, Roy Ingalls, Jr., Ed Rasmussen and Jordan Krupa were also celebrated.

Redwood Acres Raceway’s safety crew was given special distinction for their efforts in 2021 including Tom Grinsell, Rick Nicholsen, Garrett Peterson, Jeff Robison, Becca Rocha, Chase Rocha and Cody Waddell. Raceway promoters Jim Redd and Joe Bonomini also thanked the entire Redwood Acres Raceway officials and staff for their hard work on both sides of the track for the year.

While the 2022 schedule is still being finalized, a preliminary schedule was released. Track officials confirmed that the Spears SRL Southwest Tour Series would return to Redwood Acres Raceway on Saturday August 13. The event will be videoed and broadcast at a later date on the MAVTV network which will mark the first time in the history of Redwood Acres Raceway that an event will be broadcast on a national network. Other touring series are also slated to visit the Acres in 2022 and those dates will be finalized and announced in the future.

2022 Redwood Acres Raceway Schedule (Subject To Change)
April 16 – Test & Tune
April 23 – Test & Tune
April 30 – Rhododendron 100
May 14
June 4
June 18 – Fair Night
July 9 – Firecracker 100
July 30 – Legends Of The Redwoods Shootout
August 13 – Spears SRL Southwest Tour Series
August 27 – Fan Appreciation Night
September 10
September 23 & 24 – Fall Spectacular

Submitted By: Matthew Sullivan

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads