Jared Goerges
Jared Goerges

Jared Goerges
East Gull Lake, MN

A Long and Late Night to Remember


Upper Midwest Sprint Car Series

A Long and Late Night to Remember

With a field of over 130+ cars at the iconic facility, Cedar Lake speedway sanctioned their once a year show where admission into the grandstands was absolutely FREE (aka “Pack the Track Night”). The incentives outweighing the fans financial budgets, the track found a nearly sold out crowd. With both the pits and grandstands jammed packed, the track kicked off the event with opening ceremonies including the normal invocation and national anthem, along with a special speech tribute to long time Cedar Lake speedway faculty member Edie who passed away just over a week ago during Cedar Lake’s opener at the school bus special.

Like the race prior to last week on Friday night of Cedar Lake Speedway’s school bus special, there was a total of 14 UMSS cars signed in for racing competition as well as two 8 lap heat races along with a 20 lap A-feature. However, only this time the UMSS sanctioned winged sprint car competitors that roamed the high banks of the 3/8-mile dirt track! With Bob McVitty and Mike Mueller side by side from the front row, they brought the 14 car field to green for the 20 lap A-feature! It was McVitty with the earlier advantage, but then on lap 3, Rick Kobs in the Kick Ass Beef Jerkey #1 jumped up to 2nd from 3rd and stole the lead on lap 4. Just after Kobs stole the lead on lap 4, slower cars on the back stretch of the CLS forced the caution to come out. When racing resumed, Kobs has eventually found himself to create nearly a full ten second advantage over 2nd place running McVitty! 10 seconds...unbelievable. With Kobs already reaching lap traffic after 3 laps on the restart (lap 8), it looked as if the race was history. However, just a little over the half way point of the race, Rick Kobs went up in smoke in turns 1 and 2 and eventually coasted down the back stretch into 3 and 4. Unfortunately, the right front axle snapped on the car causing his night to come to an end (as reported by the driver himself – Rick Kobs). Now with Kobs out of the race, Stewart, Minnesota’s native #33s of Jeremey Schultz took the lead eventually drag raced himself to the win. Schultz, Hanson, Bradwell, Johnson, and Stordahl rounded out your top 5.

Racing for all six divisions, especially the UMSS, was phenomenal all night long. Especially with such a massive field on hand, Cedar Lake speedway’s quality red clay never seemed to slick up until the later features of the night; thus, it provided some awesome and fast racing on a tacky track! UMSS A-feature winner Jeremy Schultz picked up the opening heat race victory while the #22 of Mike Mueller took home the 2nd one. All in all, it was a great night with the racing community for family, friends, and race teams reunited once again. It reminded us all exactly why the UMSS is the best of the best in the Upper Midwest!


Pirtek Heat 1:

Jeremy Schultz , Rick Kobs , Harry Hanson , Denny Stordahl ,Kevin Lear, Chris Vogel , Todd Hansen

Pirtek Heat 2:

Mike Mueller , Ryan Johnson , Bob McVitty , Owen Carlson , Jeff Kirchner, Ryan Buck , Kevin Bradwell

Pirtek A-Feature:

Jeremy Schultz , Harry Hanson ,Kevin Bradwell , Ryan Johnson , Denny Stordahl , Kevin Lear , Jeff Kirchner , Chris Vogel , Owen Carlson , Mike Mueller , Ryan Buck , Todd Hansen , Rick Kobs ,Bob McVitty

Article Credit: Cale Anderson

Submitted By: Kris Peterson

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads