Chad Winfrey
Chad Winfrey

Chad Winfrey
Gladstone, MO

Lawson Memorial Kicks Off Sizzling Summer For MWRA!


Midwest Wingless Racing Association

Lawson Memorial Kicks Off Sizzling Summer For MWRA!

Grain Valley: After a month layoff, the stars and cars of the Wholesale Batteries USAC MWRA Sprint Car Series return to Valley Speedway this Saturday night for the Bill Lawson Memorial. This will be the second time the Lawson Memorial is run under the MWRA banner, and the first time since the inaugural event in 2021. While honoring the legacy of the Patriarch of the Lawson Racing Family, “Big Bill” Lawson, a star in short track racing in the 1950’s and 1960’s, in jalopies, sprint cars, super modifieds, and midgets. Race number 8 for the MWRA in 2024, also reignites the series as it ventures into the summer portion of the schedule following seven races in April and May.

The First Seven:
During the spring fling for the MWRA, six different victors would take the checkered flag first at four different venues in points paying races for this USAC series. With drivers that parked it in victory lane that included Wesley Smith driving the WSR Racing 44, and the Lewis Racing Deuce. Kory Schudy behind the wheel of the Jon Sawyer 28, Braydon Cromwell running his BCR 44, Xavier Doney piloting the Doney & Lawson 74, Jack Wagner, scoring a win in the Jesse Hockett/Wagner Boys Racing 77, and Wyatt Burks winning last time out for the series driving the WBR/Rumsey Racing 11w.

History at Valley:
The MWRA will be at the Grain Valley, Missouri, dirt track for the 3rd time in 2024 this Saturday night, and the 9th time overall since 2020. During that span, Wesley Smith and Kory Schudy have both won twice, while Xavier Doney, Cody Baker, Ricky Lewis, and Jack Wagner the last time on May 11th, have all won once at Valley Speedway in MWRA competition.

Points so Far:
In a very competitive start to the season, Wyatt Burks is the current point leader so far over Luke Howard in 2nd, Kobe Simpson 3rd, Zach Clark 4th, and Chad Winfrey in 5th. While Dakota Earls 6th, Junior Parkinson 7th, Wesley Smith 8th, Michael Moore 9th, Kory Schudy 10th, Taylor Walton 11th, and Justin Johnson in 12th round out the coveted top 12.

What to know:
The MWRA will be at Valley Speedway in Grain Valley, Missouri this Saturday night June 22nd for the Bill Lawson Memorial. Pit Gates open at 4. Grandstand at 5, Hot Laos at 5:30. Racing at 6pm

USAC Racing
Wholesale Batteries, Inc.
Valley Speedway
Lies Trash Service
Design Source Flooring
Valor Racing
Xtreme Color
High Fly'N Photos
Pit Stop Catering
Daytona 1
Rod End Supply
Creationsby Ravyn
Contingency Connection

Article Credit: Ray Cunningham

Article Media

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads