Jacob Poel
Jacob Poel

Jacob Poel
Spring Lake, MI



I-96 Speedway

Four Feature Winners Celebrate In Season Opener For I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, Michigan (Friday April 25th, 2014): The gates opened Friday night at the fast 3/8ths (0.375) of a mile semi banked dirt oval of I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Michigan. The night’s program was headlined by the high-powered UMP DIRTcar Late Models. Also competing were the UMP DIRTcar Modifieds, UMP DIRTcar Street Stocks, and UMP DIRTcar Sport Compacts. Both veterans and rookies alike took part in the fierce competition, which took place in front the opening night crowd.

The UMP DIRTcar Sport Compacts saw Chuck Peterson II and defending track champion Nick Jenema make up the front row for the main event. Jenema was the winner when the checkered flag waved. Peterson had to settle for second, Shelbie Shank, Cody Ruesink, and Cole Speckin completed the top five. The lone heat race was also won by Jenema.

The UMP DIRTcar Street Stocks feature was lead out by a front row consisting of Ron Harper and Richard Hyvarinen. However when things were all said and done, it was Ben Hidy picking up the win. 2009 track champion Aaron Wolf finished second, Hyvarinen, Nicholas Stormzand, and Luke Hubbell rounded out the top five. The heat wins went to Kendall Marlink, and defending two-time track, defending UMP DIRTcar North Region, and defending UMP DIRTcar National champion Josh Frye.

Mark Anderson and Andy Sprague led the Carbon Green Bio-Energy UMP DIRTcar Modifieds feature event onto the racing surface. Once the battle was over the first to cross the finish line was 2011-track champion Jacob Poel. He finished ahead of the two time & defending UMP DIRTcar Michigan state champion David Mielke. Defending track champion Travis Stemler, Steve McClees, and James Kimmel made up the rest of the top five finishers. Sprague, and Anderson scored the heat victories.

Finally, 2011 track champion Tom Sprague Jr. and Herb Reich led the UMP DIRTcar Late Models feature down to chief starter Brett Farmer’s green flag as the field fought for position behind them. Although when the dust settled, it was 2010 UMP DIRTcar national champion Rusty Schlenk making the trip to victory lane. 2012 track & UMP DIRTcar Michigan State champion Brandon Thirlby finished runner up. Dona Marcoullier, Ryan Vanderveen, and Sprague capped off the top five. The preliminary heat races were won by Schlenk, Marcoullier, and Zack Olger.

Next Friday May 2nd the I-96 Speedway will feature a program headlined by the fire-breathing winged warriors of the Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt, making their first visit of the season to the speedway. The show will also feature the first night of action from the track’s new UMP DIRTcar Pro Modified division whose drivers will be competing for their own track championship. The UMP DIRTcar Street Stocks, and UMP DIRTcar Sport Compacts will also be in action. Pit gates will open at 4:30pm, Grandstands will open at 5:30pm, Hot Laps will take place at 6:30pm, and after pre-race ceremonies/Invocation/national anthem(s) racing is set to star at 8:00pm.

I-96 Speedway is located at 3823 Portland Road in Lake Odessa, Michigan. For more information about the on-going 2012 racing season, please call: 1 (616) 642-0555 or visit the website at: www.i96speedway.com You can also follow along all season long by becoming a fan on the tracks Facebook Fan Page. Just go to: www.facebook.com/i96speedway and click on “Like” button. You can even follow us on Twitter as well, just go to: www.twitter.com/i96speedway and “Follow” us today.

Article Credit: Brian Osborne

Submitted By: Brian Osborne

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads