Jorddon Braaten
Jorddon Braaten

Jorddon Braaten
Central Point, OR

Solwold, Winebarger, And Braaten Collect CGS Season Opener Wins


Cottage Grove Speedway

Solwold, Winebarger, And Braaten Collect CGS Season Opener Wins

Solwold, Winebarger, And Braaten Collect CGS Season Opener Wins
By Ben Deatherage
(Photo Courtesy of Stephanie Deatherage)
Cottage Grove, Oregon- After waiting patiently for over a month racing at Cottage Grove Speedway finally commenced for the 2019 race season. Friday, April 26th, witnessed the opening leg of the two-night Spring Fling at the ¼-mile clay oval. Three classes made up the competition including 360 Sprints, the Mohawk Metal IMCA Modifieds, and IMCA Sport Mods.

The thirty-lap 360 Sprint main event got to a rough start. Two stoppages in the first two attempts, including a red flag incident in turn three, slowed things down but the third try was the charm. Jason Solwold, racing for car owners Mike Anderson and Monica Baca, took full advantage of his inside front row starting position. The Burlington, Washington native cruised around the track but around the halfway mark heavy lapped traffic came into the picture.

Solwold would get briefly bogged down with the slower cars allowing for challengers to get into the mix. Marysville, Washington racer Colton Heath, in the Alan Larson and Kelly Welch owned entry, caught and passed Solwold for the lead on lap sixteen. Solwold got up on the wheel and gave chase eventually recapturing the position on lap nineteen. The next time around Heath found a way by Solwold once more. However, the caution came out moments after Heath had made the pass and since the lap was not counted as complete it put Solwold back in first.

Not only did Solwold have the lead but he also had an open race track to deal with. Jason held on the rest of the distance at the front and the defending CGS 360 Sprint champion recorded the victory. Colton Heath was second over Jacksonville’s Tanner Holmes, in third. Central Point native Garen Linder ended his night fourth, after getting caught up in a tangle at the start of the race, and capping off the top five was fifth finishing Jake Waddell, of Roseburg.

Tanner Holmes set fast time of the night earlier in the program. Heat race winnners were Janesville, California teenager Chelsea Blevins, Seth Nunes of Medford, and Central Point’s Jake Wheeler. Jason Solwold captured the Dot’s Trophy Shop Trophy Dash.

In the Mohawk Metal IMCA Modifieds feature three cautions took place before the completion of the second lap. Despite the stoppages Cottage Grove native Curtis Towns put his machine out in front of the pack. Towns stayed there for quite some time before eventually losing the coveted top spot on lap seven, shortly after a restart, to Corbett’s Collen Winebarger.

It was no stroll through the park for Winebarger as he had to deal with several lapped cars as well a number of restarts due to cautions. When it was all said and done “Superman” Collen Winebarger crossed the wire in first for his first win of 2019. Curtis Towns held on to be the runner-up while Aaron Sheelar, of Springfield, was third. Albany ace Bricen James worked his was up to fourth while defending track champion Jake Mayden, also of Springfield, took home fifth.

Vancouver, Washington pilot Matt Jenner was fastest in time trials while Bricen James won the Dot’s Trophy Shop Trophy Dash. Heat races were won by Curtis Towns, Stayton’s Grey Ferrando, and Collen Winebarger.

Lastly, the IMCA Sport Mods had a good race. Jorddon Braaten returned to his prime form after winning the track and state titles last season. The Central Point native obtained the lead on the opening lap. But just like Winebarger, Braaten had to deal with similar factors including restarts, traffic, and a couple of challengers but all in all he managed to maintain his position and win in his first outing at “the Grove”.

Cottage Grove native brothers Braedon and Shawn Hand, now residing in Springfield, finished second and third respectively. The balance of the top five consisted of Brookings racer Isaac Sanders, in fourth, and David Schmidt, of Junction City, in fifth. Jorddon Braaten was the quick timer in qualifications with Isaac Sanders winning the Dot’s Trophy Shop Trophy Dash. Heat race winners included Braaten, Isaac Sanders, and fellow Brookings driver Matt Sanders.

Cottage Grove Speedway returns to racing Saturday, April 27th, for the finale of the Spring Fling. Classes on the card include 360 Sprints, Mohawk Metal IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Mods, and Hornets. There will be a massive Easter Egg Hunt during intermission that was originally supposed to take place last week.

Pit Gates open at 1:00 PM, Front Gates 3:30, and Time Trials at 5:30 with Racing beginning at 6:00. Tickets are $13.00 for Adults, Seniors/Juniors/Military $10.00, Youths (6-12) $5.00, and Children (5 & Under) are FREE. CGS offers a Family Pass (2 Adults and up to 4 Youths) for $35.00, VIP Skybox Seating is $25.00 each, and Pit Passes are $30.00. For more information and updates log on to or check out the official Facebook page.

Race Results:
Spring Fling Night #1
Friday, April 26th, 2019
Cottage Grove Speedway
Cottage Grove, Oregon

360 Sprints
Fast Qualifier: Tanner Holmes
Heat Race Winners: Chelsea Blevins (1), Seth Nunes (2), Jake Wheeler (3)
Trophy Dash Winner: Jason Solwold
A Feature: 1. Jason Solwold; 2. Colton Heath; 3. Tanner Holmes; 4. Garen Linder; 5. Jake Waddell; 6. Logan Forler; 7. Tyler Thompson; 8. Greg Hamilton; 9. Jake Wheeler; 10. Emily Williams; 11. James Setters; 12. Kinzer Cox; 13. Chelsea Blevins; 14. Seth Nunes; 15. John Stuart; 16. Spencer Desbiens; 17. R.C. Levin; 18. Steven Snawder; 19. Anthony Pope; DNS Matt Hein

Mohawk Metal IMCA Modifieds
Fast Qualifier: Matt Jenner
Heat Race Winners: Curtis Towns (1), Grey Ferrando (2), Collen Winebarger (3)
Trophy Dash Winner: Bricen James
A Feature: 1. Collen Winebarger; 2. Curtis Towns; 3. Aaron Sheelar; 4. Bricen James; 5. Jake Mayden; 6. Mike George; 7. Derik Young; 8. Kevin Williamson; 9. Jeffrey Hudson; 10. Mark Gaylord; 11. Steven Sturdevant; 12. Tyler Smith; 13. Matt Jenner; 14. Craig Hanson; 15. Paul Rea; 16. Ray Bloom; 17. Roy Kirk Jr.; 18. Hunter Bloom; 19. Evan Britton; 20. Grey Ferrando; 21. Kersey Ferrando; DNS Gene Powell

IMCA Sport Mods
Fast Qualifier: Jorddon Braaten
Heat Race Winners: Jorddon Braaten (1), Isaac Sanders (2), Matt Sanders (3)
Trophy Dash Winner: Isaac Sanders
A Feature: 1. Jorddon Braaten; 2. Braedon Hand; 3. Shawn Hand; 4. Isaac Sanders; 5. David Schmidt; 6. Doug Coffman; 7. Buddy McHargue; 8. Gavin Ropchan; 9. Travis Pruitt; 10. Skyler Winebarger; 11. Brandon Fox; 12. Jayson Nelson; 13. Matt Sanders; 14. Steven Sanders; 15. Jamie Britton; 16. Mike Wilcox; 17. Aaron Bloom; 18. Theran Trissell; DNS Jordan Henry

Submitted By: Ben Deatherage

Article Media

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads