Knight Shines In The Mods, Henderson Outduels Doss For Win


Redwood Acres Raceway

Knight Shines In The Mods, Henderson Outduels Doss For Win

The 2022 season at Redwood Acres Raceway reached its conclusion Saturday night as the 3/8-mile paved oval hosted the track’s annual Fall Spectacular. O’Reilly Auto Parts and McMurray And Sons presented the final race of the season which saw fantastic racing and champions crowned in all of the local divisions. In addition, the North State Modified Series joined the Acres regulars for the 60-lap Dale Baldwin Memorial race which featured the richest purse in the history of the touring series totaling at $20,500.

Ian Elliott’s qualifying time of 16.309 was fastest of all North State Modified Series drivers which earned him $100 as the Steve Taylor Memorial Fastest Qualifier. Keith Bloom earned the victory in the special eight-lap Dave McMurray Dash For Cash which paid him $1,000.

The invert for the 60-lap feature was eight which put Simi Tour on the pole position. Tour took full advantage of his prime starting position as he jumped to the lead. A scuffle between several cars off turn two on lap one shuffled the field and helped Tour pull out to a sizable lead. Brandon White and Darrin Knight were the first two drivers to drive through the pack into second and third but neither was able to close the gap on Tour as the laps clicked off. Knight was able to move by White for second but he too couldn’t move closer to Tour.

The race’s only caution flag came on the 22nd circuit when veteran Richie Potts slammed the wall in the third turn. Potts was unharmed. The race win was ultimately decided on the restart as Tour and Knight brought the field to the green flag. Knight took full advantage of the situation and powered to the lead. Knight was able to pull away while Tour fought off faster qualifiers including White, Scott Winters and Elliott.

Knight was able to hold true all the way to the checkered flag to take the win and the $4,000 winner’s share of the purse. Tour’s second place run earned him $2,500. Defending race champion Winters was third and received $2,000 while fourth place Elliott got $1,750. Charlie Collins placed fifth and received $1,500 for his efforts. In spite of the race going nearly 40 laps under green to the finish, all but two of the race’s starters was able to finish on the lead lap. Potts received the $250 Doyce Eaton Hard Luck award while Elliott got the Ray Elliott Hard Charger Award.

David Henderson was fastest in late model qualifying with a 16.134 qualifying time. Luke Hall took the lead at the start of the 75-lap main event which went caution-free. Racing in the early stages was tight with Hall and David Miller were almost on top of each other lap after lap. The long green flag stretch meant handling was a premium. Hall and Miller began to fight with their cars more while Jeremy Doss subbing for his father Mike Doss and David Henderson began to challenge for position.

Just past the halfway point, Doss began to make his way to the front. He moved by Miller for second while Henderson followed him to third. A few laps later, Doss took the lead from Hall while Henderson took second. With 12 laps remaining, Henderson moved under Doss down the back straightaway to take the lead. Two laps later, Doss returned the favor briefly but just as quickly Henderson was able to regain the lead. Henderson was able to pull away from Doss in the final laps to take the win. Henderson’s victory also secured the 2022 late model track championship for him. Doss finished second while Miller was third, Dennis DelBiaggio fourth and Hall fifth.

Fast time for the Legends was Jeremy Doss with a 17.851. The main event for the Legends was split into two separate 25-lap races. Doss came from the back to win the first half in dominating fashion. Little changed in the second half of the main with Doss winning over Tyler Avelar, Chris Lawrence, Guy Young and Carlee Austin. Avelar took the honors as champion of the Legends in 2022.

Kobe Taylor took the heat race win in the bomber division and looked primed for victory in the 30-lap feature as he led the opening 20 laps. On lap 21, Taylor’s car lost power off the fourth turn handing the lead to Raquel Krupa. Krupa’s time in the lead was short as Ryan Walters was able to move under and by her to take the lead in the final five laps. Walters held on to the finish to take the win over Raquel Krupa. Jordan Krupa’s third place effort secured the bomber track championship for him in 2022. Tyler Krupa finished fourth while Gannon Cyphers finished fifth while subbing for Steve Kimberling.

Gary Klinetobe took the heat race win for the mini stocks. The 25-lap main featured a spirited battle for the win between Klinetobe and Jarrett Mayo. Mayo was able to hold off Klinetobe to take the victory. Klinetobe’s runner-up finish helped him win the mini stock title for the season. Cole Peterson finished third while Gannon Cyphers and Brian Murrell, Jr. finished fourth and fifth.

Fast time for the roadrunners was Brian Hopkins with a 20.526. Tim Ratzlaff was the heat race winner. Hopkins moved to the lead early in the 15-lap main event and was able to pull out to an insurmountable lead. Hopkins took the win over 2022 roadrunner champion Tanisha Ratzlaff. Tim Ratzlaff was third over Nick Ford and Dylan Ford.

The 2022 season for Redwood Acres Raceway will officially conclude on Saturday November 5 when the track hosts the annual banquet. Details for the event will be available soon.

You can watch all of the races from Redwood Acres Raceway’s 2022 season by going to and Race results and points are available on You can also follow RAR on Facebook or Twitter @RacinTheAcres.

Submitted By: Matthew Sullivan

Back to News