Nezworski punches ticket to Davenport victory lane


Davenport Speedway

Nezworski punches ticket to Davenport victory lane

DAVENPORT, Ia. (June 2, 2023) – The first Friday in June proved to be a great one at Davenport Speedway. The race fans in attendance were treated to lovely weather, super-close finishes, and spectacular crashes.

Andy Nezworski snared his first Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature win of 2023. Andy started tenth and slowly worked his way to the front. Nezworski pulled the lead shortly after the halfway point of the 25-lapper.

Joe Beal used a late race surge to finish second. Mike Goben and Chris Lawrence battled the entire race with Goben winding up third. Bryce Garnhart came home fifth.

Garnhart, Goben, and Chuck Hanna won the late model heats.

The closest race of the evening was the Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified main. After twenty laps of hard fought competition, the race was won by the slimmest of margins, 0.002 seconds. That sliver of time was enough to propel Mitch Way into victory lane at Davenport for the first time since 2004.

On the tough luck end was Chris Zogg, who just missed out on his third victory of the year. Charlie Mohr collected a third place finish. Travis Denning and Matt Werner completed the top five.

Ben Chapman scored his third Matzen Trucking IMCA SportMod feature win this year. Chapman took the lead from David Engelkens on lap five and then held off Logan Veloz late in the race for the win. Following Logan in third was Justin Veloz. Todd Dykema recorded a fourth-place finish with Casey Williams fifth.

A first lap crash brought out the red flag in the Koehler Electric Street Stock feature. The incident eliminated the cars of Shad Murphy and Nick Hixson. Both drivers escaped without serious injury.

When racing resumed, Jeff Struck Jr. went from worst to first in only two laps. Struck built a sizeable lead that was washed away by a late race caution. On the restart Struck again pulled away and took the win. His second victory of the season. Jesse Owen took second at the checkers, ahead of Cary Brown. Landen Chrestensen and Roger Rickels rounded out the top five.

Former late model and modified racer Jason Bahrs found the Kunes Nissan IMCA Stock Car class to his liking Friday night. Bahrs swept both the heat and feature races in dominant fashion. Finishing second in the feature was Justin Kay. David Brandies took third with Keegan Wells fourth.

Cyle Hawkins recorded his fourth Sport Compact feature win of the season. Hawkins took the lead on lap three and led the remainder of the race. Second went to Shawn McDermott, nearly five seconds behind the leader. Roy Schmidt took third with last week’s winner Jack Fitzgibbon fourth.

Weekly points racing action continues next Friday, June 9th. All six weekly classes will be action. Make plans now to attend the DIRTcar Summernationals when they visit Davenport Speedway on Wednesday, June 21st.



June 2, 2023 –

IMCA Late Models

Heat #1: 1. Bryce Garnhart; 2. Joe Beal; 3. Gary Webb; 4. Colton Leal; 5. Josh Woodruff;

Heat #2: 1. Mike Goben; 2. Mack Mulvany; 3. Andy Nezworski; 4. LeRoy Brenner; 5. Jeff Classen;

Heat #3: 1. Chuck Hanna; 2. Justin Kay; 3. Todd Van Tassel; 4. Chris Lawrence; 5. Michael Leal;

Feature: 1. Andy Nezworski; 2. Joe Beal; 3. Mike Goben; 4. Chris Lawrence; 5. Bryce Garnhart; 6. Gary Webb; 7. Todd Van Tassel; 8. Mack Mulvany; 9. Doug Burkhead; 10. Colton Leal; 11. Chance Huston; 12. Jesse Bodin; 13. Michael Leal; 14. Josh Woodruff; 15. Nathan Balensiefen; 16. Justin Kay; 17. Jeff Classen; 18. Chuck Hanna; (3-DNS)

IMCA Modifieds

Heat #1: 1. Tony VonDresky; 2. Matt Werner; 3. Matt Stein; 4. Dustin Smith; 5. Jake Morris;

Heat #2: 1. Chris Zogg; 2. Mitch Way; 3. Josh Geigle; 4. Scotte Lemke; 5. Andrew Hamburg;

Heat #3: 1. Jason Pershy; 2. Travis Denning; 3. Charlie Mohr; 4. Kyle Montgomery; 5.

Brandon Jewell;

Feature: 1. Mitch Way; 2. Chris Zogg; 3. Charlie Mohr; 4. Travis Denning; 5. Matt Werner; 6. Tony VonDresky; 7. Scotte Lemke; 8. Kyle Montgomery; 9. Jason Pershy; 10. Craig Crawford; 11. Patrick Moore; 12. Matt Stein; 13. Josh Geigle; 14. Josh Starr; 15. Joel Crowbridge; 16. Jake Morris; 17. Mike Wittenburg; 18. Brandon Jewell; 19. Rob Dominacki; 20. Paul Howard; 21. Dustin Smith; 22. Andrew Hamburg; 23. Jake Whittington;

IMCA SportMod

Heat #1: 1. Logan Veloz; 2. Bryan Ritter; 3. Kasey Williams; 4. Rayce Mullen; 5. TJ Patz;

Heat #2: 1. Todd Dykema; 2. Kevin Rasdon; 3. David Engelkens; 4. Justin Veloz; 5. Ben Chapman;

Feature: 1. Ben Chapman; 2. Logan Veloz; 3. Justin Veloz; 4. Todd Dykema; 5. Kasey Williams; 6. David Engelkens; 7. TJ Patz; 8. Trey Grimm; 9. Rayce Mullen; 10. Kevin Rasdon; 11. Aaron Hitt; 12. Bryan Ritter; 13. Joel Payne; 14. Pat Emerick; 15. Cody Weih; 16. Levi Laymon; 17. Ryan Reed; 18. Kevin Goben; 19. Jeff Waterfall; (1-DNS)

Street Stocks

Heat #1: 1. Shad Murphy; 2. Jake Lund; 3. Landen Chrestensen; 4. Nick Hixson; 5. Cary Brown;

Feature: 1. Jeff Struck Jr.; 2. Jesse Owen; 3. Cary Brown; 4. Landen Chrestensen; 5. Roger Rickles; 6. Dave Wadsager; 7. Jake Lund; 8. Shad Murphy; 9. Nick Hixson;

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat #1: 1. Jason Bahrs; 2. Rick Schriner; 3. Justin Kay; 4. David Brandies; 5. Clay Hockaday;

Feature: 1. Jason Bahrs; 2. Justin Kay; 3. David Brandies; 4. Keegan Wells; 5. Rick Schriner; 6. Clay Hockaday;

Sport Compacts

Heat #1: 1. Cyle Hawkins; 2. Shawn McDermott; 3. Jack Fitzgibbon; 4. Roy Schmidt; 5. Hunter Pieper;

Feature: 1. Cyle Hawkins; 2. Shawn McDermott; 3. Roy Schmidt; 4. Jack Fitzgibbon; 5. Lande Wise; 6. Jason Rhoads; 7. Hunter Pieper;

Article Credit: Mike McGuire

Submitted By: Derek Collum

Back to News