Wesley Reed, Cody Brightwell and Jacob McDaniel Score Wins at the Bullring


Tyler County Speedway

Wesley Reed, Cody Brightwell and Jacob McDaniel Score Wins at the Bullring

Thomas Brothers Star in PJ ‘Buckwheat’ Wright Memorial; Donnie Wamsley crowned ‘Ricky Bobby’ winner

The Tyler County Speedway would welcome the annual Monster Truck Summer Smash to the ‘Bullring’ this past Saturday. While the behemoth Monster Trucks of Black Stallion, Higher Education, Overkill Evolution and Taurus thrilled families of all ages a great Saturday Night racing program was also presented. Picking up feature wins included Wesley Reed, Jacob McDaniel, Cody Brightwell, Cruz & Coen Thomas and Donnie Wamsley.

In the Middlebourne Galaxy Food Center Sportmod main event it was all Wesley Reed aboard his #95 machine picking up his second feature win of the season. Reed would pick up the ‘Dash’ win and follow that up by blasting off the front row to pick up the victory in front of the appreciative Monster Truck crowd. Following Reed across the stripe was Tyler Spencer, current point leader Kendall Hodge, Sonny Leek and Kyle Thomas.

Belpre, Ohio’s Jacob McDaniel would park it in the EQT Victory Lane in the SCDRA 4 Cylinder division. Not an easy run as McDaniel would have to fend off the pesky Father/ Son duo of Joey and Joe Price, with Wesley Tennant and Timothy Harlan rounding out the top five.

In the Sigler Fabrication Hotmod class it was several time track champion Cody Brightwell filling in for out-of-town daughter Leah, aboard the 79 machine taking the checkers. Brightwell would look poised to secure the win early in the event but a late race charge by ‘Big Daddy’ Steve Magyar on the bottom would have fans on the edge of their seat. But when the checkered flag fell it was Brightwell holding off a charging Magyar, defending track champion Brian Probst, Josh Sigler and Jason Todd would round out the top five.

Former 4 Cylinder track champion Donnie Wamsley would race to the win in the Ricky Bobby 100 Enduro race and pick up a cool $500 payday. Following Wamsley was Kordale Travis, Brendan Negie, Smokey Travis, and Bobby Boggs.

The Youth League of Auto Racing would kick off the program with a very special memorial race for the youngsters. The kids would celebrate and participate in the 4th Annual PJ ‘Buckwheat’ Wright Memorial for the Pathway Real Estate Professional Mini Wedges. Donning a special tribute wrap in memory of PJ it would be the Thomas Brothers both collecting feature wins in his honor. In the Senior division it was Cruz Thomas besting Kyndi Glover and Erickson Smith, while in the Junior class it was brother Coen Thomas getting the dub over Kolton Thomas and Greyson Smith. Trophies were presented by the Wright Family in Honor of PJ ‘Buckwheat’ Wright.

Just a reminder there is no racing action this coming Saturday, July 13th as the ‘Bullring’ takes a racing vacation. The Tyler County Speedway will roar back to life on Saturday Night, July 20th with one of the biggest shows of the season. The Hometown Racing Association will welcome the best open wheel modified racers on the planet to the ‘Bullring’ for the annual Modified Mega 100 paying $7,500 to win!

Tyler County Speedway Feature Results for Saturday, July 6th

Middlebourne Galaxy Food Center Sportmod Feature: Wesley Reed, Tyler Spencer, Kendall Hodge, Sonny Leek, Kyle Thomas, Jeff Gorrell, Mike Harter, Josalyn Hibbard, Michael Robinson, Zack Robinson, Zack Barr, Nic Green, Crash Craddock, Allen Clark, Al Smith, Brad Lucas, Robbie Archer, DNS Andy Green, Dave McCartney

Sigler Fabrication Hotmod Feature: Cody Brightwell, Steve Magyar, Brian Probst, Josh Sigler, Jason Todd, Eddie Probst, Carson Thomas, Kevin Dotson, Mickey Thorpe, Daniel Muldrew, Tom Sigler, Allen Moore, Nick Gorby, Virgil Masters, DNS JJ Arnold, Dave Mackey

SCDRA 4 Cylinder Feature: Jacob McDaniel, Joey Price, Joe Price, Wesley Tennant, Timothy Harlan, Mitch Eddy, Bobby Rymer, Beau Thomas, Jason Frazier, Christopher Yoak

Ricky Bobby 100 Enduro Race: Donnie Wamsley, Kordale Travis, Brendan Negie, Smokey Travis, Bobby Boggs

Pathway Real Estate Professional Junior Mini Wedge Feature: Coen Thomas, Kolton Thomas, Greyson Smith, Aly Leek, Karter Perine, Rowan Brightwell, Lennox McDaniel Trophy Sponsor: Wright Family in Honor of PJ ‘Buckwheat’ Wright

Pathway Real Estate Professional Senior Mini Wedge Feature: Cruz Thomas, Kyndi Glover, Erickson Smith, Eli Smith, Brentley Carson, Kylee Thomas, Bryson Roberts, Khloe Glover, Jacob Moore Trophy Sponsor: Wright Family in Honor of PJ ‘Buckwheat’ Wright

Submitted By: Dan Patterson

Article Media

Back to News