Richardson Grabs Nearly All The Gold in Monster Metal and Gold Eve of Destruction


Birch Run Speedway

Richardson Grabs Nearly All The Gold in Monster Metal and Gold Eve of Destruction

Labor Day weekend started off with a bang, as a full house watched the next to last Monster Metal X And Gold Eve of Destruction at Birch Run Speedway and Event Center. The first event up was the Pull Race and Anthony Richardson started last but came out on top in picking up the win over Eric Gilbert, Justin June, Tim Sattleberg and Darby Christensen. The Push race had the same result as Richardson would utilize his front row starting spot to push Justin Pepitone and himself to the win. Aaron Abeare, Justin June, Paul Rigda and Michael Sayan completed the top 5.

Plenty of drivers signed up for the Flag Pole race and in race number one it was Justin June taking his #032 to victory lane. He held off Jacob Armstrong, Aaron Abeare, Wyatt Rowland and Robert Palmer for the win.  In race two Josh DeLong became the driver to break the win cycle of Richardson by taking the checkered flag. Richardson tried a brake check move on DeLong on the last tire that didn’t quite work and he had to settle for second ahead of Zach Lopez, Brent Voris and Paul Rigda.

Fourteen drivers answered the call for the entertaining Back To School Bus race and Richardson, who started deep in the field, would dodge the other competitors and the two buses to secure another trip to the winner’s circle. DeLong chased Richardson to the line with Zach Lopez, Aaron Abeare and Justin June in tow.  Ted Kraynak made it to the finals for the second time in as many events in his Station Wagon for the Spectator Drags. This time he would go up against Chuck Freeman in a BMW.  Freeman beat out Kraynak to grab the first in the two out of three format, but Kraynak came back strong, winning the second and then using the high side of the 4/10 mile to barely hold Freeman off for the win.

After a brief intermission it was time for the intersection action starting with the Enduro Figure 8.  The cars and trucks zigged and zagged through the intersection until action came to a grinding halt. Michael Sayan, driving Jonah Green’s car, impaled the bed of Josh Delong’s truck in the intersection sending the #067 into a series of 360’s through the intersection and back onto the track, while his car came to rest at the front stretch wall. When the green flag dropped, Richardson pulled away as the laps clicked off.  All eyes were on DeLong though, as he drove from the back of the field up to second at the finish.  Richardson and Delong were followed by Eric Gilbert, Zach Lopez and Hudson Corl.

The always entertaining School Bus Figure 8’s were up next and there was no shortage of close calls at the intersection. Tim Sattleberg was the leader of the race and being chased by Eric Gilbert, when with three laps to go Gilbert made contact with another bus resulting in heavy damage to the “Daisy” bus and causing a red flag. With only three buses left, Sattleberg, driving the Team80 bus was officially declared the winner and a throng of young fans were able to get their picture taken with him and the bus on the start/finish line.
The Trailer Figure 8 closed out the night with action being halted early when Michael Sayan rolled his #XXX truck off turn two of the figure 8.  Speedway Safety immediately made their way to check on him and take him back pit side to be checked out.  When racing resumed, Anthony Richardson bested all other drivers to pick up his fifth win of the night!

The Monster X Metal and Gold Eve of Destruction will return to action on Saturday October 2nd for a Halloween themed event. Participants will be asked to decorate their vehicles and trailers in their best Halloween schemes as part of the final send off for the season!  The event will feature the usual races, plus a few surprises like SXS races! Gates open at 5 with the Destruction starting at 7:30.  Tickets can be bought in advance at

Photo Credit: Jason Partanen

Article Credit: Chuck Darling

Submitted By: Charles Darling

Article Media

Back to News