Bloomington Speedway
Bloomington Speedway

Bloomington Speedway
Bloomington, IN



Bloomington Speedway

A Great Show To End The Season At Bloomington Speedway With 91 Entries

23 Sprints came to the red clay Friday night with Hunter O’Neal (12.725), Brayden Fox(12.361) and Cole Bodine(12.343) leading the way in their groups in qualifying. Dickie Gaines, Shane Cockrum and Harley Burns won the heat races as the competition was fierce and none of the 3 quick times could make it up for the win during the heats. This setup the A main event and Harley drew a 4 which put Tye Mihocko and Harley on the front row. Early in the race it was Tye Mihocko who took the early lead and started to build a nice lead while 2nd through 5th were side by side battling hard. 3rd place starter the Chief Shane Cockrum got from 3rd to 2nd and was starting to gain on the 5T of Mihocko 5 laps in. Shane would then make his move to the front and take the top spot. He would be going for his 2nd win in a row as he had just won the Saturday before at LPS in the 24P machine. The final 5 laps were very wild on the high banks as Mihocko was gaining some in the lapped traffic as Shane was trying to figure out which groove to hit high or low as he came up on the lap cars. At only 12 second laps you can catch lapped traffic quickly. With one lap to go the 24P looked good but going into the final 2 corners a lapped car blocked the same groove Shane was running and it cost him the lead and the win as the 5T found a quicker way by both Shane and the lapped car and took the win in a wild finish of the season. Following Tye Mihocko at the finish was Shane Cockrum, Andy Bradley, Brandon Morin and Harley Burns. Thanks to all the Sprint Car teams who put on an amazing show this year at the red clay. Congrats to Jordan Kinser winning the 2021 championship and the entire team of the #70 Hurst Brothers Racing Team.

The Super Stocks had 14 entries on the final night and Zach Sasser(15.254) and Brad Frye(14.337) led the way in qualifying. The 2 heat races were won by Austin Phelps and Josh Litton. This setup the main event as Josh pulled an invert of 4 which put Sasser and Massie on the front row. Zach Sasser and Austin Phelps were battling for the championship. Zach Sasser took the early lead and he would lead all 20 laps for a huge win and being the 2021 Champ. Congrats to Zach and his entire team for a very hard battle for the top spot. Finishing behind Zach at the checkers was Josh Litton, Wes McClara, Justin Massie and Andrew Davis. Thanks to all the Super Stock teams who put on a great show every Friday night at the red clay.

The MMSA group brought a strong 30 entries and were ready to run non wing for the night. Heat race winners were Brandon Coffey, Josh Hixson, Brendon Cascadden and Brad Strunk. The B main winner was Bryan Brewer. Their main event was wild also as we had 5 flips during the night. Brad Strunk took the win over Brendon Cascadden, Brandon Coffey Jaylon Mills and Kayla Roell. Thanks to all the MMSA teams as they have had huge car counts all year and always put on an outstanding show.

The Hornets had 24 entries on the final night and they were led in qualifying by Andrew Deavers(18.705), Dylan Wheeler(18.123) and Chad Taylor(18.069). The 3 heat races were won by Andrew Deavers, Brian Pollitt and Michael Brewer. Brewer pulled an invert of 2 for the A main and it put Pollitt and Deavers on the front row. Pollitt was going for 2 wins in a row and he would get it as he held on for a strong win over Michael Brewer, Andrew Deavers, AJ Hobbs and Chad Taylor. Thanks to all the hornet teams as their car counts were great the final 2 nights with 28 and 24 entries. Thanks to all the teams and fans who helped us have a great season in 2021 at Bloomington Speedway. We will see you in 2022 in April at the Red Clay for more exciting action.

Submitted By: Jill Spiker

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads