Tucker Klaasmeyer
Tucker Klaasmeyer

Tucker Klaasmeyer
Paola, KS



Tucker Klaasmeyer


POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Car Series

June 24, 2016 (Belleville, IL)

Tanner Thorson was victorious on Friday night at the Belle-Clair Speedway, while Spencer Bayston captured Saturday’s event at St. Francois County Raceway in Farmington, Missouri, to give Toyota its 20th national midget car feature win of the 2016 season.

On Friday night, Thorson led Zach Daum and Tucker Klaasmeyer in a Toyota one-two-three finish at the Belle-Clair to capture his seventh national victory of the season.

Starting fourth, Thorson quickly moved into third at the green flag and worked past Keith Kunz Motorsports (KKM) teammate Bayston for second on lap eight behind fellow Toyota driver Justin Peck. Thorson eventually reeled in Peck at the mid-way point of the race, which started off an epic battle between the two. After exchanging a number of slide jobs, Thorson eventually moved into the lead for good on lap 23. While Peck and Thorson fought for the top spot, Daum closed in on both and took over second two laps later. Klaasmeyer moved up late to capture the third spot - his second podium finish of the season.

"It was great," said Thorson, who leads the National Midget Driver of the Year standings. “This KKM team gave me an awesome JBL Toyota that allowed me to do that. The track was pretty fast and we had to be patient in the beginning. All-in-all, hats off to these guys, they definitely deserve this. We've been really strong here the last two races, and every track we go to, so hopefully we can carry on to tomorrow. I love coming here."

On Sunday night, Bayston edged out Daum and Thorson as Toyota registered its second consecutive podium sweep of the weekend.

The 17-year-old Bayston moved into the lead at the green flag and proceeded to pull away from the field until a late caution with just two laps remaining bunched the field. On the final restart, Daum stayed with Bayston and was able to attempt a last turn pass coming off turn four to pull up next to him, but Bayston had the momentum to hold off Daum and took the checkered flag for his third national win of the year in his KKM Toyota.

“It feels pretty good for sure,” beamed Bayston. “They had me hooked up on the bottom and it was really comfortable tonight. I have been in a slump here lately, so it’s a good confidence booster.”

After placing second on Friday night behind Thorson, Daum was less than thrilled with his second runner-up showing of the weekend.

“It is what it is, but we tried,” said Daum. “We always try to beat Keith (Kunz), but when he brings five of them, you can’t beat them all every night. We’ll just keep plugging away at it there and just keep working.”

Thorson overcame a first-lap miscue that dropped him back into the field to finish third. Overall, eight Toyota-powered entries placed in the top 10 with Justin Peck fourth, Carson Macedo sixth, Ryan Robinson seventh, Holly Shelton eighth and Tucker Klaasmeyer placing ninth.

POWRi returns to the track next Saturday night at Macon Speedway in Macon, Ill., followed by the 35th annual Pepsi Nationals on Sunday at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis.

Finish Toyota Drivers, Friday at Belle-Clair
1 Tanner Thorson
2 Zach Daum
3 Tucker Klassmeyer
5 Justin Peck
6 Austin Brown
7 Spencer Bayston
8 Carson Macedo
12 Holly Shelton
15 Ryan Robinson

Finish Toyota Drivers, Saturday in Farmington
1 Spencer Bayston
2 Zach Daum
3 Tanner Thorson
4 Justin Peck
6 Carson Macedo
7 Ryan Robinson
8 Holly Shelton
9 Tucker Klaasmeyer
11 Darren Hagan
12 Austin Brown

Article Media

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads