Spencer Bayston
Spencer Bayston

Spencer Bayston
Lebanon, IN

Spencer Bayston Wins A Thriller In The O’Reilly Auto Parts Race Of Champions


Chili Bowl Nationals

Spencer Bayston Wins A Thriller In The O’Reilly Auto Parts Race Of Champions

Bryan Hulbert – TULSA, Okla. (January 9, 2023) A nail-biter of a race during Monday’s Cummins Qualifying Night, the annual tradition of the O’Reilly Auto Parts Race of Champions brought the crowd to their feet with Spencer Bayston adding his name to the list of winners in the events fifteenth edition.

Battling early with Rico Abreu, the pair went slide for slide for several laps, with Rico holding off the No. 1s until Lap 12. Getting space over the field, the closing laps would welcome a new challenger. Charging the hub of the Tulsa Expo Raceway, Bixby’s Cannon McIntosh closed the gap to car lengths as the pair raced to the final three laps. Just needing a chance to pounce, the final trip to the back stretch saw Bayston waiting on the car off the cushion of the second turn.

Giving Cannon a run into the final two turns, it would not be enough as Cannon slid off the bottom enough to let Bayston win the drag race to the line. Rico Abreu crossed third with Logan Seavey, who raced as high as third on Lap 10, ended up settling for fourth, while Tanner Thorson completed the top five. Chase Briscoe, Buddy Kofoid, Blake Hahn, Justin Grant, and Kody Swanson made up the top ten.

The 2023 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire, takes place January 9-14, 2023, atop the clay of the Tulsa Expo Raceway. The event is contested under the massive roof of the SageNet Center in Tulsa, Okla.

Tuesday Reserved Seats are on sale by calling (918) 838-3777. The offices of the Chili Bowl Nationals are open Monday-Friday from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. (CT). Pit Passes are sold at the event and can be purchased for single or consecutive nights.

Fans not able to attend the 37th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire will be able to watch every lap live on http://www.floracing.com.

For continued updates on the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire, fans can follow along on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram with @CBNationals. All official press, updates, and results on the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire can be found online at http://www.chilibowl.com.


37th Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals
Tulsa Expo Raceway (Tulsa, Okla.)
Monday, January 9, 2023
15th annual Race of Champions

O’Reilly Auto Parts Race of Champions Qualifying

Qualifying: 1. 71W-Michael Kofoid, 11.349[4]; 2. 39-Logan Seavey, 11.375[18]; 3. 08-Cannon McIntosh, 11.438[7]; 4. 1S-Spencer Bayston, 11.482[8]; 5. 88-Tanner Thorson, 11.494[16]; 6. 4X-Michael Pickens, 11.552[13]; 7. 2J-Justin Grant, 11.604[9]; 8. 24-Rico Abreu, 11.635[3]; 9. 5-Chase Briscoe, 11.674[11]; 10. 52-Blake Hahn, 11.801[10]; 11. 98-Tanner Carrick, 11.824[15]; 12. 55X-Alex Bowman, 11.830[19]; 13. 71G-Damion Gardner, 11.841[6]; 14. 4P-Kody Swanson, 11.848[5]; 15. 97-Brenham Crouch, 11.857[17]; 16. 7M-Shane Cockrum, 11.953[1]; 17. 1-Sammy Swindell, 12.089[12]; 18. 39T-Tim McCreadie, 12.150[2]; 19. 47-Zach Daum, 12.189[14]

O'Reilly Auto Parts Race of Champions

Race of Champions (20 Laps): 1. 1S-Spencer Bayston[5]; 2. 08-Cannon McIntosh[6]; 3. 24-Rico Abreu[1]; 4. 39-Logan Seavey[7]; 5. 88-Tanner Thorson[4]; 6. 5-Chase Briscoe[9]; 7. 71W-Michael Kofoid[8]; 8. 52-Blake Hahn[10]; 9. 2J-Justin Grant[2]; 10. 4P-Kody Swanson[14]; 11. 4X-Michael Pickens[3]; 12. 55X-Alex Bowman[12]; 13. 39T-Tim McCreadie[18]; 14. 98-Tanner Carrick[11]; 15. 47-Zach Daum[19]; 16. 97-Brenham Crouch[15]; 17. 7M-Shane Cockrum[16]; 18. 1-Sammy Swindell[17]; 19. (DNF) 71G-Damion Gardner[13]

O’Reilly Auto Parts Race of Champions Winners: Spencer Bayston (2023) Justin Grant (2022), Christopher Bell (2021 and 2020), Tanner Thorson (2019 and 2016), Chad Boat (2018), Kyle Larson (2017 and 2014), Sammy Swindell (2015, 2012, 2011, 2009), Kevin Swindell (2013), Brad Loyet (2010)

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads