Brian Smith
Brian Smith

Brian Smith
Albany, OR

Bandey, Mayden, Smith, McHargue, And E. Ashley Fan Appreciation Night Winners At CGS


Cottage Grove Speedway

Bandey, Mayden, Smith, McHargue, And E. Ashley Fan Appreciation Night Winners At CGS

Bandey, Mayden, Smith, McHargue, And E. Ashley Fan Appreciation Night Winners At CGS
By Ben Deatherage
(Photo Courtesy of Josh Ryan Photos)
Cottage Grove, Oregon- Cottage Grove Speedway returned to racing on Saturday, May 4th, for the third race of 2019. The event just happened to be the ultra-popular Fan Appreciation Night, where during intermission all the cars in the pit area come out on the track and drivers gave autographs. Classes on the bill included the Todd’s Auto Body Sprint Cars, Mohawk Metal IMCA Modifieds, Late Models, IMCA Sport Mods, and Hornets.

The Todd’s Auto Body Sprints were in action for the first time in 2019. Cottage Grove’s Ian Bandey picked up a major win in his young career, his first at CGS. Defending track champion Shane Forte, of Junction City, was the runner-up with Ricky Ashley, from Thurston, in third. Harrisburg teenager Tyler Thompson placed fourth over fifth finishing Orion Redmond, out of Roseburg. Forte was fastest in time trials while winning in the heat races were Forte, McKenzie Bridge youngster A.J. Harbaugh, and Sutherlin veteran Vern Scevers.

In Mohawk Metal IMCA Modified competition defending track champion Jake Mayden returned to victory lane. The Springfield chauffeur became the third different winner in as many races in the classification. Cottage Grove’s Evan Britton posted an impressive second while fellow CG driver Tyler Smith was third. The rest of the top five was made up of Kevin Williamson, from Coburg, in fourth and Springfield’s Aaron Sheelar, in fifth. Sheelar was the fastest driver in qualifying while heat race wins went to Britton and Sheelar.

The Late Models made their 2019 debut with a great car count. Sweet Home pilot Brian Smith managed to take the checked flag first to claim victory over the rest of the field. Eugene’s Ed Peters was a respectable second while Trent Elliott, of La Pine, was third. Mike Peters, from Cottage Grove, ended his evening in fourth over fifth place driver Craig Hanson, out of Albany. Elliott managed to get quick time during qualifying while Elliott and Smith were the two heat race victors.

The IMCA Sport Mods would make another appearance at the ¼-mile clay oval. Winston driver Buddy McHargue bested the field to become the third different winner in as many races so far this year. Roseburg regular David Schmidt posted a second-place effort while Jayson Nelson, of Springfield, was behind him in third. The balance of the top five consisted of Cottage Grove’s Matt Brown, in fourth, over Shawn Hand, from Springfield, in fifth. Hand laid down the best time in time trials while in heat race action McHargue and Brandon Fox accumulated the wins.

Lastly in the Hornets, Jasper’s Eric Ashley parked the Randy Kuhl owned entry in the winner’s circle for his first win of the new campaign. His father, Gene Ashley also running for Randy Kuhl, was second with Veneta’s Josh Linville placing third. Eugene driver Brad Moffett posted a fourth-place result over fellow Eugene ace Joel Hazen, who was fourth. Linville was the fastest driver in qualifications with heat race victories going to Springfield’s K.C. Scott and Eric Ashley.

Cottage Grove Speedway will return for two nights of racing next weekend. Things will kick off with Kage Karts on Friday, May 10th, for their second race of 2019. Saturday, the 11th, will have the ¼-mile host Mom’s Night Out where all mothers get into the races for FREE. Classes on the card include the Todd’s Auto Body Sprints, IMCA Sport Mods, Street Stocks, Hornets, and Dwarf Cars.

On Friday for Karts the Pit Gates open at 3:00 PM and the Pit Meeting (with Hot Laps/Racing to follow) at 6:00. General Admission is FREE, Pit Passes $10.00, and Car/Driver Entry $35.00. On Saturday the Pit Gates open at 1:00 PM, Front Gates 3:30, and Time Trials at 5:30 with Racing beginning at 6:00. Tickets are $13.00 for Adults, Seniors/Juniors/Military $10.00, Youths (6-12) $5.00, and Children (5 & Under) are FREE. CGS offers a Family Pass (2 Adults and up to 4 Youths) for $35.00, VIP Skybox Seating is $25.00 each, and Pit Passes are $30.00. For more information and updates log on to or check out the official Facebook page

Race Results
Fan Appreciation Night
Saturday, May 4th, 2019
Cottage Grove Speedway
Cottage Grove, Oregon

Todd’s Auto Body Sprints
Fast Qualifier: Shane Forte
Heat Race Winners: Shane Forte (1), A.J. Harbaugh (2), Vern Scevers
A Feature: 1. Ian Bandey, 2. Shane Forte, 3. Ricky Ashley, 4. Tyler Thompson, 5. Orion Redmond, 6. Kyle Alberding, 7. Raquel Ivie, 8. Anthony Pope, 9. Vern Scevers, 10. A.J. Harbaugh, 11. Steven Snawder, 12. Tyrell Mead, 13. Don Waddell, 14. Mike Crawford, 15. Scott Fox, 16. Spencer Desbiens, 17. Morgan Burks, 18. Brody Sim, 19. Nicky Mendenhall, 20. Kinzer Cox

Mohawk Metal IMCA Modifieds
Fast Qualifier: Aaron Sheelar
Heat Race Winners: Evan Britton (1), Aaron Sheelar (2)
A Feature: 1. Jake Mayden, 2. Evan Britton, 3. Tyler Smith, 4. Kevin Williamson, 5. Aaron Sheelar, 6. Chad Groves, 7. Paul Rea, 8. Justin Ryker, 9. Hunter Bloom, 10. Ray Bloom, 11. Roy Kirk Jr., 12. Steven Sturdevant, 13. Curtis Towns, 14. Jim Vanloon, 15. Jason Kocks

Late Models
Fast Qualifier: Trent Elliott
Heat Race Winners: Trent Elliott (1), Brian Smith (2)
A Feature: 1. Brian Smith, 2. Ed Peters, 3. Trent Elliott, 4. Mike Peters, 5. Craig Hanson, 6. Chuck Christian, 7. Randy Barley, 8. Richard Wallace, 9. Rob Williams, 10. Paul Culp, 11. Ryan Ronning

IMCA Sport Mods
Fast Qualifier: Shawn Hand
Heat Race Winners: Buddy McHargue (1), Brandon Fox (2)
A Feature: 1. Buddy McHargue, 2. David Schmidt, 3. Jayson Nelson, 4. Matt Brown, 5. Shawn Hand, 6. Brandon Fox, 7. Jordan Henry, 8. Steve Hopkins, 9. Theran Trissell, 10. Tanya Ryker, 11. Aaron Bloom, 12. Gavin Ropchan, 13. Kevin Kirk

Fast Qualifier: Josh Linville
Heat Race Winners: K.C. Soctt (1), Eric Ashley (2)
A Feature: 1. Eric Ashley, 2. Gene Ashley, 3. Josh Linville, 4. Brad Moffett, 5. Joel Hazen, 6. Jim Simmons, 7. Jason Loucks, 8. Mark Milligan, 9. Joe Maricle, 10. Cole Trissell, 11. Barry Cannon, 12. Melissa Abston, 13. Kerry Cooper, 14. K.C. Scott, 15. Mitchell Jamison, 16. Rod Jackson

2019 Cottage Grove Speedway Sponsors/Marketing Partners
Archer Floor Covering
Bonanza Drive-Up
Boyce & Sons Landscape & Building Materials
Columbia Distributing
Comfort Suites of Creswell
Farmlands Market
Giant Burger
Goofy's Muffler
James Heating & Air Conditioning
Maximus Unlimited
Mohawk Metal
O'Reilly's Auto Parts
Pink House
Todd's Auto Body
Welt & Welt
Wenzel's Farm Sausage
Dot’s Trophy Shop
Todd’s Auto Body
Mohawk Metal

Submitted By: Ben Deatherage

Article Media

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads