Justin Kay
Justin Kay

Justin Kay
Wheatland, IA

139 Race Teams Pack Maquoketa Speedway For Season Opener


Maquoketa Speedway

139 Race Teams Pack Maquoketa Speedway For Season Opener

Maquoketa, Iowa: The 2024 racing got underway on Saturday, May 4th at the Maquoketa Speedway ¼ mile dirt track located on the Jackson County Fairgrounds on the East edge of Maquoketa. A whopping 139 teams took part in the racing program held on a blustery chilly night at the races.

The Kinion Auto Sales IMCA Late Model feature was the headliner of the night. 18 drivers took the initial green flag with local standout Justin Kay starting on the pole by virtue of the qualifiers redraw. Kay went on to record the win by leading the main event flag to flag. Defending track champion Andy Nezworski kept Kay in his sights but was unable to mount a serious challenge in taking second ahead of third place finisher Travis Denning who started the main in the 10th position.

Veach Septic and Sewer IMCA Modifieds main event saw defending track champion Jeff (Bone) Larson score the opening night win as will pursue back to back titles at the Maquoketa Speedway. Larson started fourth and took the lead early wrestling the point position away from pole sitter Jake Morris. Larson went on to race under the checkers ahead of Mitch Way and Jason Schueller, who advanced from a fourth row start.

The QC Jeeps.Com IMCA Stock Cars saw an outstanding field of 23 drivers sign in for the opening night's races. The IMCA Stock Cars always provide plenty of action and Saturday night was certainly no exception. Tom Schmitt led early until defending track champion and hometowner Jacob Ellithorpe took over the point position. The 72 of Ellithorpe went on to record the win but not without a late race challenge by Tanner Allen who had taken the initial green flag way back in the 10th position. Schmitt held on to take third at the checkers.

26 Amhof Trucking IMCA Sportmods lined up for their 15 lap feature on Saturday night. Jared Staver led early from his outside front row start while 9th starting Shane Paris was making his way to the front. Paris took over the top spot as the race passed the midway point and the 17C of Paris went on to record the win ahead of a strong running Logan Veloz. Scott Williams turned in the drive of the night in the Sportmods coming from 13th to finish third.

The Hawkins Trucking and Construction IMCA Hobby Stocks also saw a large field of 23 drivers take the initial green flag. The Hobby Stock main event was red flagged twice for rollovers. Both Logan Jones and Lukas Short were uninjured in separate rollover incidents. Jared Miller scored the opening night win in the Hobby Stock feature racing to the checkers ahead of Daniel Wauters and Sheldon Hunter.

The INEX Legends saw several drivers take their turns at the point position. At the checkers it was Jackson Lewis from Lakeville, MN scoring the in ahead of defending track champion Dave Eberle. Robby Morrison crossed under the checkers in third.

The Tri-City Construction 4 cylinders main event saw 18 drivers take the initial green flag. Cyle Hawkins has been the man to beat in the 4 cylinder division and that was the case again Saturday night. Hawkins charged to the front from his 4th row start and went to record the win ahead of Shawn McDermott and early leader Jacob Welter.

Racing will continue at the Maquoketa Speedway on Saturday, May 11th and it will be Tub O Towels night at the races with all in attendance receiving free product from Tub O Towels. Hot laps will get underway at 6 pm.

Maquoketa Speedway

2024 Season Opener

Feature Results (top Five)

Kinion Auto Sales IMCA Late Models

15k Justin Kay-Wheatland

7 Andy Nezworski-Blue Grass

56D Travis Denning-Sterling, IL

5 Mike Fryer-Freeport, IL

07 Matt Ryan-Davenport

Veach Septic & Sewer IMCA Modifieds

1B Jeff (Bone) Larson-Freepoort, IL

01M Mitch Way-Davenport

3 Jason Schueller-Dubuque

99M Charlie Mohr-Bettendorf

99 Brandon Jewell-Camanche

QC Jeeps.Com IMCA Stock Cars

72 Jacob Ellithorpe-Maquoketa

22 Tanner Allen-Springville

18 Tom Schmitt-Independence

72H Miciah Hidlebaugh-Menlo

12N Gage Neal-Anamosa

Amhof Trucking IMCA Sportmods

17C Shane Paris-Muscatine

43LV Logan Veloz-Colona, IL

9 Scott Williams-Atkins

24X Cole Stichter-Hampton, IL

33 Jarrett Franzen-Maquoketa

Hawkins Trucking & Construction IMCA Hobby Stocks

17M Jared Miller-West Branch

H2O Daniel Wauters- Tipton

28 Sheldon Hunter-Wyoming

5 Kaden Staley-Muscatine

4 Jordan Miles-Bernard

Legends Direct INEX Legends

7 Jackson Lewis-Lakeville, MN

5 Dave Eberle-Freeport, IL

32 Robby Morrison-Alburnett

19 Jeff Schmidt-Rock City, IL

25 Cole O'Brien-Cedar Rapids

Tri-City Construction 4 Cylinders

28 Cyle Hawkins-Durant

4 Shawn McDermott-Davenport

49 Jacob Welter-Farley

12 Mitch Bielenberg-Charlotte

630 Dustin Munn-Davenport

Article Credit: Jerry Mackey

Article Media

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads