Jamie Vernaus
Jamie Vernaus

Jamie Vernaus
Anola, MB

Bouwman, McDonald, Guyot, and Hunter Claim Season Finale Wins


Lake of the Woods Speedway

Bouwman, McDonald, Guyot, and Hunter Claim Season Finale Wins

Lake of the Woods Speedway ended their 2020 Season with the Winnipeg Super Trucks in town to cap off the year.

A total of 36 cars attended in four classes with the Q104 WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, WISSOTA Pure Stocks, 4-Cylinders, and Super Trucks.

A record number of 4-Cylinders were in attendance with Alexander Farr starting 4th in Heat 1 and taking the win. In the second heat, Logan McDonald started and finished in first.

In the Feature, Logan McDonald and Jake Mazur started on the front row. McDonald took the early lead and never looked back. However, Farr started 8th and stormed his way into second. Mazur rounded out the top 3.

In the Q104 WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds Grant Hall started on the pole in Heat 1, claiming the win. Nick Audette finished second while Edward Bell finished third. In the second heat, Christopher Leek started on the pole but was unable to stay ahead of the field. Austin Hunter took the win, while Brandon Rehill started fifth to finish second. Cody Ossachuk rounded out the top three.

In the feature, an early caution by the pole sitter sent Ryan Sichewski to the back of the field. On the ensuing restart, Hunter took the lead and never relinquished it. Rehill moved into second but was unable to rope in the leader. Hunter took the clean sweep, and won his second feature at Lake of the Woods Speedway in 2020.

In the WISSOTA Pure Stocks, Chris Bouwman coming off a series of unfortunate events this summer such as a blown motor started fourth and made a bold move to the outside of Michael Copp to take the lead and claim his second victory of 2020. Jaymie Weir rounded out the top three.

Copp was the winner of the only heat, with Bouwman finishing second after starting seventh.

In the Super Trucks, it was a three way battle in both the heat and feature between Eric Guyot, Jamie Vernaus, and Chris Audette. The battle of the top three ravaged the entire race with Vernaus continuing to lead. But after a late caution involving Wade Barkley and Marc Zondag, Vernaus drove too hard into turn one on the restart giving both Guyot and Audette a lane.

Guyot would cruise to victory winning both feature events in Kenora.

A huge thank you to www.cooleddown.tv for hosting the races on their Pay-Per-View platform throughout the season. While we really miss our fans, it was great to have this option.

Thank You to all the great volunteers, sponsors, drivers, crew, supporters, etc. for making a tough 2020 a good one. :)

We hope to see all our fans at the track in 2021!

Article Credit: Photos by Val Catell

Article Media

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads