Jimmy Owens Gets Win at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Jimmy Owens Gets Win at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex

MARKLEYSBURG, PA (July 26, 2013) – Jimmy Owens dominated the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event on Friday Night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. Owens took the lead at the start of the 50-lap main event and went unchallenged for the $10,000 pay day.

Owens’ sixth series win of the season vaulted him back on top of the Lucas Oil Championship Points Standings. Jeremy Miller had his best career LOLMDS finish, taking home second place. Steve Francis was third followed Earl Pearson, Jr. and Eddie Carrier, Jr.

“The crew has been working their tails off lately. We gambled on tires and the car was good all night. We qualified a lot better, which allowed us to win our heat race. We got some timely cautions out there and lapped traffic was not a factor for us tonight,” said the 2-time and defending LOLMDS champion.

“I have to thank my car owner Mike Reece; he just bought us a new truck and trailer. I’ve got to give a special thanks to Reece Monument Company, Gantte Appraisals, Hypercoil Springs, Sunoco, Red Line Oil, and Ohlins.”

From the start, Miller and Francis ran side-by side for several circuits. Miller held the second spot for the first nine circuits until Francis got by him. Those two drivers had a terrific race all night, with Miller coming back to pass Francis on lap 27. He never relinquished the spot the remainder of the race.

“To come here and have a finish like this against these Lucas Oil guys sure feels good! Steve and I had a great battle there, and we didn’t touch the entire race. The tire rule really helped us tonight, everything just fell into place. I have to thank Rocket Chassis and everybody associated with our team. We’ve only ran about 13 races this year, and tomorrow night we will head to Hagerstown,” said Miller.

Francis talked about the duel he had with Miller all race long and Owens’ dominance, “Jimmy was clearly the best of the field tonight. Jeremy raced me cleaned and gave me the bottom all race long. We were a little too free in the corners, but it was another good finish for our team. I don’t know what happened to John (Blankenship), but this point’s battle is going to be tight up until the end of the season.”

Completing the top ten were Gregg Satterlee, Dan Stone, Austin Hubbard, Vic Coffey, and Don O’Neal.

In preliminary action, Davey Johnson set the overall time (Group A) amongst the 36 entrants, with a lap of 15.579 seconds. Gregg Satterlee set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.914 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Jeremy Miller, and Vic Coffey won their respective heat races. Jared Hawkins and Keith Barbara won their respective B-Mains.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be back in action tomorrow night, Saturday, July 27th at Hagerstown Speedway in Hagerstown, MD for the annual “Conococheague 50”. The event will pay $10,000-to-win and will include RED BUCK Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and the 50-Lap main event. For more information, log onto www.hagerstownspeedway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, July 26th, 2013
Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex – Markleysburg, PA

RED BUCK Fast Time Group A: Davey Johnson / 15.579 seconds
RED BUCK Fast Time Group B: Gregg Satterlee/ 15.914 seconds

Wiles Drive Shafts Heat Race #1 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Davey Johnson, Mason Zeigler, Jamie Lathroum, Ron DeLano, Jr., Austin Hubbard, Billy Moyer Jr., Scott Rhodes, Bob Gordon-DNS

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Steve Francis, Jacob Hawkins, John Blankenship, Dennis Erb Jr., Jared Hawkins, Mike Benedum, Quintin Wyandt, Coleby Frye, Eddie Carrier Jr.-DNS

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jeremy Miller, Gregg Satterlee, Cody Hardesty, Dan Stone, Keith Barbara, Don O'Neal, Tyler Hershey, Jared Landers, Chuck Harper

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #4 (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Vic Coffey, Dan Angelicchio, Earl Pearson Jr., Eddie Carrier Jr., Tim Senic, Devin Friese, LC Powers, Steve Shaver, Mark Booth, Danny Mitchell

CV Products B-Main #1 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jared Hawkins, Ron DeLano, Jr., Austin Hubbard, Quintin Wyandt, Coleby Frye, Billy Moyer Jr., Mike Benedum, Bob Gordon

Wrisco Aluminum B-Main #2 (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Keith Barbara, Tim Senic, Steve Shaver, Don O'Neal, Tyler Hershey, Jared Landers, Chuck Harper, Mark Booth, Devin Friese, Scott Rhodes, LC Powers, Danny Mitchell

Feature Finish (50 Laps): 1. 20-Jimmy Owens; 2. 1M-Jeremy Miller; 3. 15-Steve Francis; 4. 44-Earl Pearson Jr; 5. 28-Eddie Carrier Jr; 6. 22S-Gregg Satterlee; 7. 21D-Dan Stone; 8. 11H-Austin Hubbard; 9. 32C-Vic Coffey; 10. 71-Don O'Neal; 11. 28E-Dennis Erb Jr; 12. 21JR-Billy Moyer Jr; 13. 25Z-Mason Zeigler; 14. 6S-Steve Shaver; 15. 17B-Keith Barbara; 16. 83R-Scott Rhodes; 17. 5-Jared Landers; 18. 14-Dan Angelicchio; 19. 53-Cody Hardesty; 20. 23-John Blankenship; 21. S2-Tim Senic; 22. 37-Jared Hawkins; 23. 6L-Jamie Lathroum; 24. 20H-Jacob Hawkins; 25. 0D-Ron DeLano Jr; 26. 1J-Davey Johnson

Race Statistics
Entrants: 36 Lap Leaders: Jimmy Owens (Laps 1 – 50)
Caution Flags: Davey Johnson (Lap 8); Jared Landers (Lap 16); Cody Hardesty (Lap 17); Jamie Lathroum (Lap 24); debris (Lap 36)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Don O’Neal, Jared Landers
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: Billy Moyer Jr.
RED BUCK Fast Time Provisionals: none
Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex Track Provisional: Scott Rhodes
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Billy Moyer Jr. (Started: 26th, Finished: 12th, Advanced: 14 positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jimmy Owens
Allstar Performer of the Race: Eddie Carrier Jr.
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
JRi Shocks/Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Billy Moyer Jr.
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Chris Fox (Jimmy Owens)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Lap # 12; 16.697 seconds)
Time of Race: 28 minutes 21 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News