Gallatin Speedway
Gallatin Speedway

Gallatin Speedway
Belgrade, MT

Searing Overhauls Crapser Late to Top 2024 KRA Challenge Series Stop



Searing Overhauls Crapser Late to Top 2024 KRA Challenge Series Stop

For Immediate Release – June 6th, 2024

The 2024 season for the Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge Series powered by Momentum Truck Group, Freightliner, Western Star got back to action with the first of a four-night Western Minnesota and Eastern South Dakota swing on Thursday, June 6th with the series’ second stop at the KRA Speedway, located at the Kandiyohi County Fairgrounds in Willmar, Minnesota.

Alexandria, Minnesota’s Ryan Mikkelson broke the one-year-old track record that John Kaanta set in 2023 with a lap of 16.281 seconds around the third mile oval to start the night before he raced from 4th to win the opening heat races, followed by Josh Zimpel and Jeff Massingill, who won their respective heat races from the pole of their qualifying heat races.

Mikkelson and Cory Crapser paced the 40-lap feature field to green with Crapser taking the lead on the opening circuit and leading the first nine circuits until the event’s first caution flew for an Adam Ayotte breakdown on the front stretch. On the restart, Crapser lead Mikkelson and Tyler Peterson back to green with Zimpel and Massingill running side by side for fourth.

The second caution of the event flew on lap ten for an Adam Prieve spin, bunching up the field once again, but this time on the restart, Cole Searing roared into the third spot around Peterson and began to chase down Mikkelson for second.

Crapser continued to lead out front with Mikkelson, Searing, Peterson and Matt Gilbertson in the mix until the third caution flew for a Todd Frank flat tire, which bunched the field up one more time.

Crapser took back off out front and the event stayed green for the next 14 circuits with Searing closing on Crapser’s #07 until the fourth and final yellow flag was displayed on lap 27, creating a 13-lap race to the checkered.

With Crapser out front, Searing tried high and low to overtake the race long leader until he was able to complete the pass as the field exited turn two on lap 33 to steal the lead and drive off to a 00.000 second victory, his third in four series starts in 2024. Crapser finished a career best second with Gilbertson a close third. Mikkelson’s fourth place finish edged Peterson, who rounded out the top five.

Justin Vogel won the WISSOTA Street Stock feature, Jason Vejtruba won the WISSOTA Modified main event and Coltyn Schuler won the Pure Stock feature event to wrap up the night. The Super Stock, Mod Four and Hornet features were postponed due to the track’s curfew.

Full results can be found on at 6/6/2024 - KRA Speedway on MyRacePass

The next 2024 Challenge Series event is scheduled for Friday, June 7th at the Fiesta City Speedway in Montevideo, MN with a 7pm start time.

For upcoming schedule information and tickets, visit

Submitted By: Nikki Cook

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads