Jesse Hockett
Jesse Hockett

Jesse Hockett
Warsaw, MO

Lucas Oil ASCS heads to Wheatland for Hockett/McMillin Memorial



Lucas Oil ASCS heads to Wheatland for Hockett/McMillin Memorial

Bryan Hulbert - TULSA, Okla. (September 23, 2013) There are few names in Sprint Car racing that evoke emotion like that of Jesse Hockett and Daniel McMillin. A racer’s racer; the definition of respect behind the wheel and a cousin, closer than a brother, who would follow Jesse anywhere. Each a true ambassador to the sport as both were willing to help anyone who asked. It’s nothing new for the mentioning of these names to bring a room of race fans to tears.

The simple playing of Elton John’s “Rocket Man” is enough to bring a crowded night at the Dingus Lounge to a complete standstill during the Knoxville Nationals. Eyes turning to the tribute that hangs high in the covered patio, drinks raised, and a toast shared for two friends that were taken all too soon.

South bound on Missouri back roads from Warsaw, a 38 mile journey finds the site of the annual tribute to the pair; a little racing venue called the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks”. It’s only fitting that the finest facility in the land presents the Hockett/McMillin Memorial.

The eighth time the racing community will honor the loss of Daniel McMillin; this year’s memorial will be the third time the pair has been honored at the Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. The tribute to Jesse and Daniel come in various forms. From the trophies to the cars, every year fans of the Hockett/McMillin duo show just how great the racing community can be.

Among the tributes expected for the 2013 edition of the Hockett/McMillin Memorial on Friday, September 28 and Saturday, September 29 is Brian Brown’s Jesse Hockett themed No. 77 competing with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real.

Jesse’s brother Rob Hockett will also be behind the wheel in the Hockett No. 2az with the Impact 4800 WAR Sprint Series as well as Arkansas’s Tim Crawley.

Among the emotions, a point’s battle remains for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real. Jason Johnson enters the weekend as the defending champion of the Hockett/McMillin Memorial. Notching his eighth victory of 2013 this past weekend rain ravaged in the Port-a-Cool U.S. Dirt Track Championship, the Louisiana native carries a 45 point advantage into the weekend double header.

Johnny Herrera remains safely in the runner up position for now as the points chase from third through sixth begins to tighten up. Jeff Swindell currently holds the show position with Brad Loyet holding fourth and closing in on Swindell to challenge. Following a fifth place showing at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, the 2012 Brodix Rookie of the Year stands only 22 markers away from taking the spot away from Swindell.

Tony Bruce, Jr. completes the top five in driver standings a mere 31 markers ahead of Logan Forler. Having traded the fifth spot six times already in 2013, the difference between the two spots at the end of the year is $2,000 with an $18,000 check awaiting the driver who earns fifth in points.

Washington’s Seth Bergman holds seventh with Dustin Morgan, Cole Wood, and Brandon Hahn completing the top ten in driver standings.

The weekend will also be paired with the Speedway Motors Warrior Region. Ruled over in 2013 by Jonathan Cornell, the Sedalia driver has amassed eight victories with seven of those coming as regional triumphs in 2013. His biggest win of 2013 came against the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour at the Lucas Oil Speedway on June 22 where the VKCC No. 28 charged from eighteenth.

Jay Russell holds the runner up spot with Cody Baker, J.R. Topper, and Casey Baker completing the top five.

The weekend will also include a Kick-It for Kids Cancer game on Saturday, September 28 starting at 1:00 P.M. just outside the pit entrance of the Lucas Oil Speedway. For more information, log onto or contact the Hockett family at 816-820-2411.

Tickets for the Hockett/McMillin Memorial are on sale at or

Friday, September 27 will have gates open at 5:00 P.M. with races beginning at 7:30 P.M. Saturday, September 28 opens at 4:00 P.M. with racing at 6:30 P.M.

Quick Look:

Series: Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real / Speedway Motors Warrior Region
Date(s): Friday, Sept. 27 and Saturday, Sept. 28
Times: Sept. 27: Open at 5:00 P.M. / Racing at 7:30 P.M.
Sept. 28: Open at 4:00 P.M. / Racing at 6:30 P.M

Track Information: Lucas Oil Speedway
Address: 700 E Hwy. 54 Wheatland, MO 65779
Phone #: 417-282-5984


2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-8, Jeff Swindell-5, Johnny Herrera-3, Roger Crockett-3, Brian Brown-3, Logan Forler-2, Brad Loyet-2, Danny Lasoski-2, Kyle Bellm, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Jonathan Cornell, Tony Bruce, Jr., Travis Rilat, Justin Henderson, Shane Stewart, Tim Crawley

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,457; 2. Johnny Herrera 4,412; 3. Jeff Swindell 4,235; 4. Brad Loyet 4,213; 5. Tony Bruce, Jr. 4,091; 6. Logan Forler 4,060; 7. Seth Bergman 3,912; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,735; 9. Cole Wood 3,553; 10. Brandon Hahn 2,890;


The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, iON Camera, Smokey Mountain Moonshine, C&R Radiator, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters,, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads