Curt Rung Jr
Curt Rung Jr

Curt Rung Jr
Attica, NY

Cody McPherson Wins Chris Moore Memorial; Williamson, Dziomba, Rung, and Adamczak Collect Wins


Ransomville Speedway

Cody McPherson Wins Chris Moore Memorial; Williamson, Dziomba, Rung, and Adamczak Collect Wins

RANSOMVILLE, NY (May 19, 2023) Mr. DIRT Sportsman titlist Cody McPherson from St. Catharines, Ontario won the Chris Moore Memorial for the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman at the Ransomville Speedway Friday night as Parkhill Tree Service and Niagara Hardwood presented the night’s program. Mat Williamson from St. Catharines, Ontario won his second Krown Undercoating 358 Modified feature of the season. Chris Dziomba from North Tonawanda, NY won the KiPo Motors Street Stocks feature event. Curt Rung from Friendship, NY won the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock main, while Dillon Adamczak from Akron, NY won his second Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature of the season.

Pete Bicknell and Jesse Cotriss were on the front row for the Krown Undercoating Modifieds feature event, with Cotriss jumping into the early race lead as Steve Lewis Jr took over second from Bicknell. Steve Lewis Jr would take over the lead from Cotriss on lap two. Mat Williamson would take over second from Cotriss on lap three, as Lewis set the pace. Williamson suffered a flat right rear tire, and Brachmann had nowhere to go as both hit the turn one wall on lap 10. Jesse Cotriss was also involved in the incident. Williamson was the only one able to continue racing. Ryan Susice would take over second place from Bicknell on the restart, with Noah Walker challenging Bicknell for third place. On lap 14, Williamson would take over fourth place. Following a lap 15 restart, Williamson would be able to work back through the field to take over second place and would challenge Lewis for the lead. Lewis bobbled off turn two, allowing Williamson to take over the lead with ten laps remaining. Williamson would go on to score the win, his second of the season at Ransomville.

Brett Senek and Cameron Tuttle brought the field to the green flag in the Chris Moore Memorial for the Hy-Tech Concrete Sportsman with Senek quickly getting the advantage ahead of Tuttle, Cody McPherson, Chad Chevalier, and Kyle Richner. The first yellow flag would fly on lap one as Abby Castile, Robert Henning, and Nathan Peattie got together in turn one. Henning and Peattie were able to continue, as Castile’s night ended on the tow truck. Cody McPherson and Cam Tuttle battled for second place off the restart, as Senek started to pull away from the field. Derek Wagner would make his move towards the front as by lap seven, was up into fifth place and challenging Chad Chevalier for fourth. Wagner would get around Chevalier for fourth place following a lap nine caution and would set his sights on the lead trio of Senek, Tuttle, and McPherson. The leaders went three wide on lap 18 with Tuttle taking the lead. Then on the following lap, McPherson would take over the lead. Derek Wagner would move into second place, with Senek and Tuttle battling for third. Jim Harbison and Kyle Richner got together on lap 27, setting up a three-lap shootout. McPherson would hold off Derek Wagner and Cameron Tuttle to score the feature win. The event was round one of the Western Region for the Sportsman Super DIRTcar Series.

Tommy Bowen and Chris Dziomba set the pace for the KiPo Motors Street Stocks feature event with Dziomba showing the way. For several laps, Simon Bissell and Ken Camidge battled for the runner-up position, with Camidge taking it away on lap six. Dziomba was in control of the event, leading all 15-laps to score his first win of the season.

Cole Susice and Cody Griffin were on the front row for Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks feature, with Griffin taking the lead. Cole Susice would take the lead away from Griffin, with Curt Rung taking over second on lap two, and then would take over the lead on lap three. Rung would pull away from the field to score the feature win.

Mike Kramarz and Cameron Rowlands were on the front row for the Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman feature event, with Kramarz showing the way. Rowlands and Dillon Adamczak battled for second place for much of the feature distance. Kramarz broke on lap 11 while in the lead, allowing Dillon Adamczak to take over the lead. Adamczak would lead the final four laps to win his second straight feature event.

Next Friday night, Buffalo Auto Auction presents 2k to win Krown Undercoating Modifieds plus a full card of racing. DNA Towing presents the inaugural Austin Wilson Memorial Demolition Derby. Plus, the kids bike race will take place during intermission. Kids will also have a chance to win one of four brand new bikes courtesy of the Wilson Print Shop. Pit gates will open at 5pm, grandstands open at 6pm, and racing will get underway at 7:15pm.

RACE RESULTS – Parkhill Tree Service and Niagara Hardwood Center – Chris Moore Memorial
Krown Undercoating Modifieds: MAT WILLIAMSON, Ryan Susice, Steve Lewis Jr, Scott Kerwin, Pete Bicknell, Noah Walker, Greg Martin, John Smith, Sheldon Gardner, Chad Brachmann, Jesse Cotriss, Andrew Smith
Qualifying Heats: Mat Williamson, Pete Bicknell

Hy-Tech Concrete Sportsman: CODY MCPHERSON, Derek Wagner, Cameron Tuttle, Brett Senek, Dave DiPietro, Jim Harbison, Jessica Kriegisch, Justin McKay, Colby Adamczak, Jordan Moden, Chad Chevalier, Randy Chrysler, Tom Princiotta, Nathan Peattie, Larry Vick, Kyle Richner, Tyler Moore, Noah Mamo, Robert Henning, Abby Castile
Did Not Start: Nelson Mason
Qualifying Heats: Cameron Tuttle, Derek Wagner, Brett Senek

KiPo Motors Street Stocks: CHRIS DZIOMBA, Ken Camidge, Simon Bissell, Tommy Bowen, Joey Zimmerman, Josh Pangrazio
Qualifying Heats: Ken Camidge

Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks: CURT RUNG, Cole Susice, Rich Conte, Tyler Foster, Cody Griffin, Mike Becker, Ian Paul, Christian Soliday, Ryan Plante, Pete Nigro
Did Not Start: Anthony Haag, Dave Dussault
Qualifying Heats: Cody Griffin, Cole Susice

Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman: DILLON ADAMCZAK, Wayne Swinson, Cameron Rowlands, Luke Blose, Jocelyn Just, Mike Kramarz, Jordan Denobriga
Qualifying Heat: Dillon Adamczak

Article Credit: Steven Petty

Submitted By: Steven Petty

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads