Cory Jorgensen
Cory Jorgensen

Cory Jorgensen
Duluth, MN



Gondik Law Speedway


Sweeps Modified And Super Stock Events
By Jerry O'Brien 6-5-20
Shane Sabraski of Rice, MN almost won everything he entered as he swept
both the WISSOTA Super Stock and Modified features at Gondik Law Speedway in Superior, WI Friday night June 5th the second night of the Doubleheader Shootout. In fact, only Dave Flynn stood in his way as he won the Super Stock feature Thursday night breaking up Sabraski's perfect weekend.
A total of 106 cars performed on the smoothest clay track seen in years. The Friday total included a total of 18 Late Models. The 13 qualifying heat races went off without a hitch and it was soon time to begin the six feature events.
First up it was 20 laps for the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds. Ryan Savoy and Dylan Miller headed the 17 car pack into the first turn. Savoy was the leader but Cody Carlson moved quickly and followed Savoy through from the second row to second. Jack Rivord Justin Jones and Shane Howell made up the top five. Defending track champion Andrew Inman was sixth, Jason VandeKamp and Miller were next in line. The top five stayed in order for the first six laps until Savoy's number 16 emitted a huge cloud of steam down the front stretch bringing out the caution flag. With Savoy out of the running, it was Carlson who led the remaining cars to the green flag. Carlson drove out to a good lead while VandeKamp brought the pressure as he moved through the traffic. Three laps later he disposed of Jones for second and set out to track down Carlson. VandeKamp closed quickly to Carlson's back bumper, moved in and swept by for the lead with eight laps remaining. VandeKamp then widened his lead moving out to an insurmountable lead crossing the stripe for his first win at the speedway in nearly two years. Carlson, Jones, Rivord and Inman finished in the top five.
Next up it was the Super Stock main event. The field was led into the first turn by pole sitter Pat Beeksma and veteran Doug Koski. Koski bolted to the lead at the green with Beeksma, Kyle Copp, Chad Fouquette and Shane Sabraski following. Koski held onto the lead over Beeksma but it was Dave Flynn who was charging from row three to position three in the early going. With six laps in Flynn shot past Koski to the lead. 2019 GLS track champion followed Flynn through from the same row and captured second place. Burdick chased Flynn for several laps while Sabraski bursed free from the pack into third and set off in pursuit of the leaders. Once free ], Sabraski quickly closed on the leaders and, with a couple laps remaining, shot past Burdick and Flynn and drove away to the win. Sabraski completed the sweep with Burdick, Flynn, Beeksma and Tristan LaBarge completing the top five. Of note in this event was the fact that there were no caution flags.
The WISSOTA Late Model main event was set for 25 laps. Pole sitter was
Jeffery Lien, Jr with 2019 Hibbing Raceway track champion Derek Vesel to his
outside. Lien grabbed the lead over Vesel as Travis Budisalovich moved to third. Darrell Nelson and John Kaanta were fourth and fifth while Jeff Massingill was sixth. Vesel stayed out front as Budiaslovich and Nelson along with Kaanta, Pat Doar and Jake Redetzke surged toward the leader. Vesel soon hit traffic allowing Budiaslovich and others to move closer as they tried to get through. Budiaslovich then got by Vesel on the front stretch and, next, it was Nelson who also passed Vesel for second. Doar soon moved to fourth with Redetzke fifth. Deven VanHouse, Kaanta, Massingill, Buddy Hanestad and Steve Laursen rounded out the top ten.
Clayton Wagemon and Deven VanHouse led the WISSOTA Modifieds into the first turn with Bob Broking and Kelly Estey in line. VanHouse held the lead over Wagemon with Bob Broking as Sabraski quickly moved up from his ninth starting spot past Estey to fourth. Estey was busy fending off Johnny Broking and Ryan Gierke. The first caution flag of the event flew when Tyler Luger spun at the bottom of turn three. The restart came just past the midpoint with ninne laps remaining. At the restart VanHouse was able to beat Bob Broking to the first turn with Sabraski third, Wagemon fourth and Johnny Broking fifth. The second caution flag appeared when Shane Howell, Dan Kingsley and Luger Tngled in the first turn. VanHouse kept the lead on the restart but soon surrendered it to Sabraski with five laps remaining. Sabraski was able to pull away form VanHouse for the win. Bob Broking, Ryan Geirke and Johnny Broking finished in the top five.
It was a runaway for Cory Jorgensen from the pole in the 12 lap WISSOTA
Pure Stock feature. James Vendela moved from fourth to chase Jorgensen and the two former track champions raced away from Friday night's winner Trevor
Treviranus. Jared Akervik broke loose from the pack and tried to track down the
front runners but could get no closer than fourth. Tanner Gehl in his rookie season started on the outside of the front row and held on for the fifth place finish.
Hunter McDougall raced from the second row to the lead at the start of the 12 lap WISSOTA Hornet feature but soon gave way to Brennan Schmidt who led the rest of the way for his second win of the two day event. The Thursday night feature was won by Grayson Pratt, but, apparently Pratt's car was claimed by another competitor. The claim was refused, Pratt was disqualified and runner up Schmidt was awarded the win. Carter Rieland, Hunteer McDougall, Jace Wiarda and Levi Price finished in the top five.
Next up at Gondik Law Speedway is "Friday Night at the Races" featuring all
six classes.

Article Credit: Jerry O'Brien

Article Media

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads