Alyssa Rowe
Alyssa Rowe

Alyssa Rowe
Chambersburg, PA



Hagerstown Speedway


HAGERSTOWN, MD (August 15) - From fast time to heat win to feature win, Keith Jackson edged out Andy Anderson to win the Late Model feature on Back to School Small Fry Night at Hagerstown Speedway/Dirt Capitol that paid him $3,000. The win was his second of the season.

“It got pretty exciting there with about five to go with lapped traffic and the track was rubbered up,” Jackson said. ”I knew if we held our line we’d probably be all right. As soon as I got by Brad, I felt a little bit better and had a cushion there.”

Jackson and Andy Anderson lined up on the front row from the heat wins with Jackson asserting himself on the start with third starting Trever Feathers squeezing into second for the opening lap until Anderson took charge of the runner up spot.

Jackson pulled ahead of Anderson just over a one and half second lead which remained consistent throughout the race and was under green all 30 laps. Anderson’s lead over Feathers increased to a straightaway at the checkered while he closed some on Jackson who caught the rear of the field before the halfway mark. He trailed Jackson by .93 seconds at the finish. Second heat winner Gary Stuhler and Jerry Bard trailed Feathers.

With a three car invert for the Late Model Sportsman, Scott Palmer occupied the outside pole alongside Bobby Beard with Palmer making a wide sweeping swing off the second turn to take the lead of the $800 to win feature.

He was out front more than three seconds ahead of Beard and Kyle Lee when an eighth lap caution closed the field.

Paul Cursey advanced into the runner up spot on the restart as Palmer caught the rear of the field just as third running Lee was the victim of a 17th lap caution.

Justin Weaver and Rance Garlock gained positions on the restart as Cursey dropped to fourth but Palmer continued on with Weaver applying pressure but trailing by two lengths at the checkered. Beard and Shaun Jones trailed Garlock to complete the top five.

“We were down here Wednesday (for the practice) and found a little bit that helped us tonight,” Palmer said. ”It was fun to drive. I stated up front three weeks in a row and we finally got it done.”

Sean Dawson led the 20-lap Pure Stock K-Lynn Management event as Chris Ebersole moved into second but Mike Corbin charged into the lead on lap five as Ebersole followed along two laps later.

After the halfway mark, Ebersole closed in to start challenging Corbin for the lead. He kept the pressure on but trailed by a half-length with Corbin picking up his fifth win. Keith Koontz, Jamie Zentmyer, from 20th, and Dawson were next.

“We came over here Wednesday and we practiced and we practiced and we practiced,” Corbin said. “The guys started changing stuff and it paid off but we’re still not that good.”

Gary Proctor started the Hobby Stock feature from the pole and had no problem taking the lead on the start while Jamie Mills moved into second by the third lap. Following a fifth lap restart, Proctor pulled away to win by 1en lengths over Mills.

With heat wins, Alyssa Rowe and Tim Schulte were on the front row for the Mid Atlantic Modified event as Rowe took the lead with Vic Vandergrift into second by lap two. Following a third lap restart, Rowe began pulling away as Dennis Perigo took over the runner up spot on the seventh lap while Rowe enjoyed a 10-12 length lead. She continued on as Perigo was slowing reeling her in but Rowe drove on her second career win by eight lengths. Vandergrift, Derek Deusenberry and Mike Reynolds were next.

“I knew Vic was there the whole race and he’s so good everywhere he goes,” Rowe said. “I knew I had to keep my head on straight and I had all these people to make happy so I had to do it tonight.”

The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website: Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.


Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Models, 30 Laps: 1.Keith Jackson, 2.Andy Anderson, 3.Trever Feathers, 4.Gary Stuhler, 5.Jerry Bard, 6.Marvin Winters,7.Gene Knaub, 8.Nick Dickson, 9.Roy Deese Jr., 10.Matt Cosner, 11.Devin Friese, 12.Wayne Johnson, 13.Brad Omps, 14.James McBee, 15. Tommy Armel, DNS-Barry Miller

Malloy Ford Late Model Sportsman, 25 Laps: 1.Scott Palmer, 2.Justin Weaver, 3.Rance Garlock, 4.Bobby Beard, 5.Shaun Jones, 6..Rodney Walls, 7.Wayne Dillman, 8.Paul Cursey, 9.Jeff King, 10.Sam Gallagher, 11.LarryNeiderer, 12.Eddie Cornett, 13.Dillan Stake, 14.Matt Nailor, 15.Braden Anderson, 16.Elwood Sord, 17.Craig Smith, 18.John Rowland, 19.Kyle Lee, 20.Mike Walls, DNS – Cody Kershner,

2nd Annual K-Lynn Management Pure Stocks, 20 Laps: 1.Mike Corbin, 2.Chris Ebersole, 3.Keith Koontz, 4.Jamie Zentmyer, 5.Sean Dawson, 6.Brian Miller, 7.Nick Dibella, 8.Rick Stouffer, 9.Mike Desch, 10. Wayne Hawbaker, 11.David Kaiser, 12.Michelle Walls, 13.Walter Lemmon, 14.Brian Swiger, 15.Ryan Smith, 16.Joshn Angle, 17.Randy Kline, 18.Frank Dibella, 19.Craig Parrill, 20.lJeremy Mills, 21. Kevin Koontz, 22.Tony Stoneberger

Mason Dixon Auto Auction Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps: 1.Gary Proctor, 2.Jamie Mills, 3.Travis Horan, 4.Marshall McMullen, 5.Kenny Thomas, 6.Tom Caravello, 7.William Crook, 8.Jason Sarver, 9.Ralph Hansberger 10.James Jones, 11.Dakota Foor, 12.Rodney Minor, 13.Dwayne Snyder, 14.John Catlett

Mid Atlantic Modifieds, 20 Laps: 1.Alyssa Rowe, 2.Dennis Perigo, 3.Vic Vandergrift, 4.Derek Deusenberry, 5.Mike Reynolds, 6.Tim Schulte, 7.Alan Shives, 8.Mark Jones, 9.Bill Pluta Jr., 10. Vigi Zuccolotto, 11.Beian Maxey
12.Justin Milburn, 13.Michael Meck Jr., 14.Adam Daniels, 15.Craig Ramich, 16.Ryne Pennington, 17.Rich Goodman

Article Credit: Danny Wilson

Submitted By: Josh Fries

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads