OSCS-Ohio Sprint Car Series
OSCS-Ohio Sprint Car Series

OSCS-Ohio Sprint Car Series

‘Money Man’ Tim Shaffer Takes Ohio Sprint Car Series Win at PPMS


Inside Line Promotions

‘Money Man’ Tim Shaffer Takes Ohio Sprint Car Series Win at PPMS

Inside Line Promotions – IMPERIAL, Pa. (June 10, 2018) – The “Money Man” Tim Shaffer of nearby Aliquippa, Pa., led all 25 laps to claim the inaugural visit of the Ohio Sprint Car Series to Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday evening.

For Shaffer, a four-time champion of the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions, the 2010 winner of the Knoxville Nationals and the recent winner of the inaugural Sprint Car World Championship, the victory came aboard the Demyan-Rudzik Racing No. 49X and was worth $2,500.

“We went there to try some different things on the car that we’ve been talking about and Cody (Jacobs, the crew chief) and the guys had the car perfect,” Shaffer said. “I like what this guy is working to do with this series. It’s a working man’s series and I wish more teams would support it. They had a great payout and bonuses. The weekend racer needs to get on board with the series and help it grow.”

Shaffer started from the pole for the 25-lap A Main and quickly built a sizeable lead on the big half-mile track. Behind him the action heated up with Jack Sodeman Jr., of Lordstown, Ohio; Sye Lynch of Apollo, Pa.; and Andrew Palker of West Salem, Ohio, battling. When the checkers flew Shaffer won by more than two seconds over Palker with Sodeman Jr. rounding out the podium. Lynch and fellow Apollo, Pa., resident AJ Flick finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Sodeman Jr. started off the night by setting quick time during qualifying, which netted a $100 bonus, before he and Darren Gallagher each won a heat race.

Other bonuses went to Brent Matus, who won the Hard Charger Award, and Dan Kuriger, who claimed the farthest tow bonus.

OSCS owner Steven Pocock was pleased with the input he received from the race teams for the event.

“I think the weather kept a number of teams from coming, but overall we received a lot of positive feedback tonight,” he said. “The drivers indicated to me they love seeing the different things we are trying to do for sprint car racing.

“We have started working on a point fund for the 2019 season and we will be contacting teams over the next few weeks to start getting interest for next season and discussing the tentative purse, bonuses and point fund. We’ve already established there will be a maximum of 20 points races in 2019 and there will be tow money for each event. We will keep pushing to make this series better and better each year.”

The Ohio Sprint Car Series will return to action on July 21 at Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio.


Qualifying: 1. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr., 17.286; 2. O8-Dan Kuriger, 17.406; 3. 57X-Andrew Palker, 17.495; 4. 49x-Tim Shaffer, 17.693; 5. 42-Sye Lynch, 17.771; 6. 13-Brandon Matus, 17.794; 7. 33-Brent Matus, 18.109; 8. 2-Austin Fike, 18.145; 9. 12-Darren Gallagher, 18.527; 10. 91-Sadie Siegal, 18.775; 11. 27K-Jeremy Kornbau, 18.849; 12. 8-Joe Sylvester, 19.708; 13. 23c-Gerald Harrhogan, 22.790.

Heat #1 (8 laps): 1. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr. (1); 2. 49x-Tim Shaffer (4); 3. 57X-Andrew Palker (3); 4. 42-Sye Lynch (5); 5. 13-Brandon Matus (6); 6. O8-Dan Kuriger (2).

Heat #2 (8 laps): 1. 12-Darren Gallagher (3); 2. 2-AJ Flick (2); 3. 27k-Jeremy Kornbau (5); 4. 33-Brent Matus (1); 5. 8-Joe Sylvester (6); 6. 91-Sadie Siegal (4); 7. 23C-Gerald Harrhogan (7).

A Main (25 laps): 1. 49x-Tim Shaffer (1); 2. 57X-Andrew Palker (4); 3. 23JR-Jack Sodeman Jr. (2); 4. 42-Sye Lynch (3); 5. 2-AJ Flick (7); 6. 33-Brent Matus (9); 7. 27K-Jeremy Kornbau (8); 8. 8-Joe Sylvester (10); 9. 91-Sadie Siegal (11); 10. 12-Darren Gallagher (6); 11. 13-Brandon Matus (5); 12. 23C-Gerald Harrhogan (12).


$100 Quick Time: Jack Sodeman Jr.

$50 Hard Charger: Brent Matus

$100 Farthest Travel: Dan Kuriger


Tim Shaffer – 1 (Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway in Imperial, Pa., on June 9) and Brandon Wimmer – 1 (Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe, Ohio, on April 21)


July 21 at Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio


Website: https://www.oscsracing.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OhioSprintCar

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OhioSprintCarSeries/


The Ohio Sprint Car Series began in 2016, visiting dirt ovals and showcasing 410ci winged sprint cars throughout Ohio. Those interested in developing a marketing partnership with the Ohio Sprint Car Series should contact Steven Pocock at 419-765-0088 or via email at webxdesign14@gmail.com.


The Ohio Sprint Car Series would like to thank Pyrotect Racing Safety equipment (http://pyrotectstore.com); Saldana Racing Products (http://www.saldanaracingproducts.com); Rod End Supply (http://rodendsupply.com); Sandusky Speedway Graphics (https://www.facebook.com/SanduskySpeedwayGraphics); Rugged Radios (https://www.ruggedradios.com); and Web X Design (https://www.facebook.com/webxdesign.pocock)


Inside Line Promotions specializes in affordable public relations and media management for motor sports drivers, teams, sponsors, tracks, series, events, organizations and manufacturers. ILP Founder Shawn Miller leverages professional journalism with new media technologies and social networking to improve your exposure and the return on investment for your sponsors.

To meet the media relations needs of your program by joining Team ILP, contact Shawn at 541-510-3663 or Shawn@InsideLinePromotions.com. For more information on Inside Line Promotions, visit http://www.InsideLinePromotions.com.

Article Credit: Inside Line Promotions

Submitted By: Shawn Miller

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads