Mike Spencer
Mike Spencer

Mike Spencer
Temecula, CA

Spencer Shines in Hall of Fame Classic Finale


Sprint Source

Spencer Shines in Hall of Fame Classic Finale

Mike Spencer rebounded from a wild ride one night earlier to finish off Canyon Speedway Park’s 15th Annual Sands Chevrolet Hall of Fame Classic with a drive to victory lane in Saturday night’s 30-lap USAC/CRA Sprint Car main event.

While Spencer reclaimed the USAC/CRA Sprint Car points lead with his second triumph of the season, Chris McCurdy, Jr., put a stop to the Matt Martinez run of domination in Pure Stock action with Dustin Cormany taking Micro Sprint honors.

Pelkey led the USAC/CRA Sprint Car feature in the early rounds before Friday night winner Damion Gardner took command on the eighth round as Spencer worked toward the front in the familiar Chaffin-owned No. 50 Sprint Car from the seventh starting position.

Spencer ultimately wrestled the lead away from USAC Southwest Sprint Car points leader R.J. Johnson in the final handful of laps to snare the victory. Johnson settled for runner-up honors with Brody Roa, Joshua Hodges and Mike Martin rounding out the top five.

In Arizona Differential Pure Stock action, Chris McCurdy, Jr., denied Matt Martinez a fourth consecutive victory by charging from 11th to capture his fifth win of the year. Martinez settled for second with David Jones, Steve Sussex and Jeff Carter in the top five.

Dustin Cormany took full advantage of the pole starting position by racing to his first Micro Sprint feature win of the year at CSP ahead of Friday night winner Kyle Huttenhow, Cody Batten, Ryan Hennessey and Kenny Hilton.

Action resumes at Canyon Speedway Park with the 27th Annual Desert Classic on November 6-7 featuring IMCA Modifieds along with IMCA Sport Modifieds, Arizona Differential Pure Stocks, Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive Renegades and Mini Stocks.

Canyon Speedway Park

October 24, 2015 – 15th Annual Sands Chevrolet Hall of Fame Classic Results

USAC/CRA Sprint Cars:

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. R.J. Johnson, 51, Martin-13.614; 2. Brody Roa, 48, Leonard-13.863; 3. Mike Martin, 16, Martin-13.881; 4. Mike Spencer, 50, Chaffin-13.894; 5. Damion Gardner, 4, Alexander-13.917; 6. Josh Pelkey, 12, Allen-13.953; 7. Josh Hodges, 74X, Hodges-13.978; 8. Michael Curtis, 45C, Turner/Wheeler-14.024; 9. Matt Rossi, 02, Rossi-14.065; 10. Jake Swanson, 92, Sertich-14.118; 11. Chris Bonneau, 78, Bonneau-14.135; 12. Richard Vander Weerd, 10, Vander Weerd-14.179; 13. Charles Davis Jr., 50AZ, Massey-14.302; 14. Cody Williams, 44, Jory-14.431; 15. Austin Williams, 2, Jory-14.487; 16. Matt Lundy, 1, Lundy-14.691; 17. Logan Williams, 5, Jory-14.912; 18. Jeremy Ellertson, 98, Ellertson-15.184; 19. Tye Mihocko, 5M, Mihocko-15.194; 20. Parker Colston, 64, Gore-15.204; 21. Chris Fiore, 69, Fiore-15.866.

FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Davis, 2. Hodges, 3. Swanson, 4. Johnson, 5. Lundy, 6. Spencer, 7. Mihocko. NT

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Gardner, 2. Bonneau, 3. Roa, 4. Colston, 5. Curtis, 6. C.Williams, 7. L.Williams. NT

THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. A.Williams, 2. Vander Weerd, 3. Martin, 4. Pelkey, 5. Ellertson, 6. Rossi, 7. Fiore. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Mike Spencer, 2. R.J. Johnson, 3. Brody Roa, 4. Josh Hodges, 5. Mike Martin, 6. Jake Swanson, 7. Richard Vander Weerd, 8. Charles Davis Jr., 9. Logan Williams, 10. Michael Curtis, 11. Damion Gardner, 12. Cody Williams, 13. Jeremy Ellertson, 14. Chris Bonneau, 15. Josh Pelkey, 16. Austin Williams, 17. Chris Fiore, 18. Matt Rossi, 19. Tye Mihocko, 20. Matt Lundy, 21. Parker Colston. NT

Arizona Differential Pure Stocks:

Heat One: 1. 5z-Zack Madrid, 2. 15-Steve Sussex, 3. 33y-David Jones, 4. 21m-Matt Martinez, 5. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 7. 97L-Stephen Lumpkin.

Heat Two: 1. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 2. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 3. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 4. 51-Jeff Carter, 5. 27T-John Todd, 6. 04b-Justin Bishop.

“A” Feature: 1. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 2. 21m-Matt Martinez, 3. 33y-David Jones, 4. 15-Steve Sussex, 5. 51-Jeff Carter, 6. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 7. 5z-Zack Madrid, 8. 27T-John Todd, 9. 97L-Stephen Lumpkin, 10. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 11. 04b-Justin Bishop, 12. 68v-Joe Vlasity.

Micro Sprints:

Heat One: 1. 71-Cody Batten, 2. 29-Paul Martin, 3. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 4. 10-Ryan Hennessey, 5. 41-Colton Hardy, 6. 99x-Jake Branum, 7. 11k-Tyler Congleton, 8. 16-Pat Wing, 9. 9-Marty Morin.

Heat Two: 1. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 2. 7m-Mason Keefer, 3. 20s-Dustin Cormany, 4. 57-Kyle Huttenhow, 5. 77-Aaron Miller, 6. 42-Kenny Hilton, 7. 21-Jonathan Patrick, 8. 4-Ryan Walter, 9. 28-Mark Morin.

“A” Feature: 1. 20s-Dustin Cormany, 2. 57-Kyle Huttenhow, 3. 71-Cody Batten, 4. 10-Ryan Hennessey, 5. 42-Kenny Hilton, 6. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 7. 7m-Mason Keefer, 8. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 9. 21-Jonathan Patrick, 10. 41-Colton Hardy, 11. 16-Pat Wing, 12. 99x-Jake Branum, 13. 29-Paul Martin, 14. 4-Ryan Walter, 15. 11k-Tyler Congleton, 16. 77-Aaron Miller, 17. 28-Mark Morin, 18. 9-Marty Morin.

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads