Texas Motorplex
Texas Motorplex

Texas Motorplex
Ennis, TX

Track Information


1/4 Mile



Drag Strip

507 ft.

Built in 1986, The Texas Motorplex has been the place of many drag racing milestones and world record performances. Ever since Darrell Gwynn christened the first all-concrete, quarter-mile, national records and speed milestones have been commonplace at Texas Motorplex.

The Texas Motorplex is a favorite of drivers for the all-concrete race surface and ideal weather conditions, NHRA national events at Texas Motorplex commonly yield national records. Season championship titles are commonly clinched here and race fans get a great speed show!

Nov. 1985
– Billy Meyer signs an agreement to host an NHRA event the following September, before ground was broken on the facility.

Jan. 1986
– Ground breaks for Texas Motorplex – designed to be the first post tension, all-concrete, quarter-mile facility specifically created for drag racing.

Sept. 25, 1986
– Darrell Gwynn runs 5.280 to set Top Fuel E.T. record with the first national event pass ever.

April 1987
– Texas Motorplex becomes the first non-NHRA-owned track to host two national events.

– Texas Motorplex opens the Divisional 4 Hall of Fame, becoming the only track to host a hall of fame.

– Texas Motorplex becomes the first facility to build a permanent hospitality structure to host fans in a VIP atmosphere; originally known as The Top Eliminator Club and now known as the Champion’s Club.

April 9, 1988
– Eddie Hill turns in the first four-second quarter mile pass – a 4.990 run.

Oct. 19, 1997
– Cory McClenathan makes the first pass in the 320 mph-range – a 321.77 run.

Oct. 24, 1998
– Gary Scelzi, John Force, Warren Johnson and Larry Kopp lead the quickest qualifying field in NHRA history.

Oct. 23, 1999
– En route to his first NHRA championship, Top Fuel driver Tony Schumacher earns his first national event victory.

Oct. 23, 1999
– John Force clinched his ninth NHRA Funny Car championship by defeating Tommy Johnson Jr. in the quickest side-by-side race in Funny Car history.

Sept. 23, 2004
– Texas Motorplex becomes the first NHRA track in the country to have starting line balcony seating in the tower suites.

Sept. 26, 2004
– Greg Anderson clinches his second consecutive NHRA Pro Stock title at Texas Motorplex. Anderson clinched the title sooner than any other driver in NHRA history.

Sept. 23, 2007
– John Force and Kenny Bernstein crash after their second-round matchup in Final Eliminations. Force is severely injured and doesn’t race again until the 2008 season. Force would earn a semifinal finish at Texas Motorplex in 2008 and a second-round finish in 2009.

Sept. 26, 2010
– John Force vows to win at Texas Motorplex again and earns his first final round appearance at Texas Motorplex since his 2007 crash, earning a runner-up finish against Matt Hagan.

Top Fuel
Sept. 2014
ET 3.761 seconds by JR Todd
MPH 326.71 mph by Doug Kalitta

Funny Car
Sept. 2014
ET 4.039 seconds by Courtney Force
MPH 314.90 mph by Courtney Force

Pro Stock
Sept. 2012
ET 6.550 seconds by Allen Johnson
MPH 211.99 mph by Allen Johnson

Pro Stock Motorcycle
Sept. 2011
ET 6.828 seconds by Hector Arana Jr
MPH 197.22 mph by Michael Phillips

Fan Info

  • Tents and campers (with hookups)
  • No coolers allowed
  • No ATM on site
  • All major credit cards accepted
  • Grass parking
  • Grandstand seating
  • WiFi information unavailable

Family Info

  • Family seating information unavailable
  • Playground information unavailable
  • No family restrooms

Pit Info

  • Fans allowed in pits
  • Pit concessions available
  • No electricity in the pits
  • Fuel available at the track
  • Check-in information unavailable
  • Pits located inside the track
  • Paved pit surface
  • No tires available at the track