John Carney II
John Carney II

John Carney II
El Paso, TX

John Carney II Leads All For ASCS Elite Outlaw Win At Route 66 Motor Speedway



John Carney II Leads All For ASCS Elite Outlaw Win At Route 66 Motor Speedway

(Image Credit: Kaleigh Cornell)

Bryan Hulbert – AMARILLO, Texas (June 24, 2023) Rolling out a clean sweep at Route 66 Motor Speedway on Saturday night, El Paso’s John Carney II wheeled the Coyote Candle Co. No. 74b into Victory Lane for the first time with the MYCO Plastics ASCS Elite Outlaw Sprints.

The fourth winner in as many races with the tour, Carney took off from the pole at the Amarillo oval and stretched his lead to 4.813-seconds over 20 laps. Jason Howell crossed second after starting sixth, with Friday’s winner, Austin Mundie, crossing third. Keith Martin and Brett Becker completed the top five.

Cody Gardner, sixth, was followed by Marcus Thomas, who picked up six spots in the process. Jeremy McCune, Paul White, and Bryson Oeschger completed the top ten.

The next event for the MYCO Plastics ASCS Elite Outlaw Sprints is July 7 at Heart O’ Texas Speedway in Waco and Saturday, July 8 at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite.

The ASCS Elite Wing and Non-Wing Series is owned and operated by Nathan Moore and operates under the sanction of the American Sprint Car Series. Rules for both tours can be found at

Nathan can be reached at (903) 780-9934 or by email at

The 2023 season will mark the 32nd year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the American Sprint Car Series National Tour, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.

For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@ASCSRacing).


ASCS Elite Outlaw Sprints
Route 66 Motor Speedway (Amarillo, Texas)
Saturday, June 24, 2023

Abilene Powder Coating Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 74B-John Carney II[5]; 2. 0J-Jeremy McCune[2]; 3. G6-Cody Gardner[4]; 4. 1-Paul White[3]; 5. 21-Michelle Parson[1]

Texas Aeroplastics Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 6M-Blake Mallory[2]; 2. 44-Jason Howell[1]; 3. 79-Keith Martin[3]; 4. 38-Bryson Oeschger[4]; 5. 10G-Marcus Thomas[5]

Boxwell Heavy Haul Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 4-Austin Mundie[1]; 2. 2B-Brett Becker[4]; 3. 25B-Blaine Baxter[2]; 4. 1B-Brian Gramm[3]; 5. (DNF) 19D-Ryan Dalrymple[5]

Accel Compressions A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 74B-John Carney II[1]; 2. 44-Jason Howell[6]; 3. 4-Austin Mundie[3]; 4. 79-Keith Martin[8]; 5. 2B-Brett Becker[5]; 6. G6-Cody Gardner[7]; 7. 10G-Marcus Thomas[13]; 8. 0J-Jeremy McCune[4]; 9. 1-Paul White[11]; 10. 38-Bryson Oeschger[10]; 11. 25B-Blaine Baxter[9]; 12. 1B-Brian Gramm[12]; 13. 21-Michelle Parson[15]; 14. 19D-Ryan Dalrymple[14]; 15. 6M-Blake Mallory[2]

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads