John Carney II
John Carney II

John Carney II
El Paso, TX

John Carney II Earns Elite Non-Wing Win At West Texas Raceway



John Carney II Earns Elite Non-Wing Win At West Texas Raceway

(Image Credit: David Smith, Jr.)

Bryan Hulbert – LUBBOCK, Texas (July 14, 2023) Running in memory of Jay Jonas, it was only fitting that John Carney II rolled into Victory Lane at West Texas Raceway on Friday night with the ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating.

Collecting $3,500 in his second career ASCS Elite Non-Wing triumph at the Lubbock, Texas oval, the Carney connection to the Avenger name goes back decades. Growing up in El Paso, Texas, John was one of several members of his family that spent countless hours at Avenger Chassis working and racing Jay’s cars.

The third driver to lead the way, Anthony Nicholson, led the first eight revolutions. Overtaken by Caleb Stelzig, the final trio of laps were commanded by Carney. Silver went to Stelzig, with Anthony Nicholson ending up third. Cody Gardner was fourth, with Keith Martin fifth. Caleb Saiz, Shon Deskins, Don Grable, Michael Fanelli, and Paul White made up the top ten.

The ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating, rolls to Amarillo on Saturday, July 15, for the G.W. Southwestern Championship at Route 66 Motor Speedway.

Gates opens at 5:30 P.M., with racing at 7:00 P.M. (CDT). Other divisions include USRA Limited Modifieds, Street Stocks, and USRA Modifieds. Tickets are $20 for adults, $15 for seniors, and $10 for youth (5-11). For directions and info on Route 66 Motor Speedway, log onto or call (806) 803-1212.

The ASCS Elite Wing and Non-Wing Series is owned and operated by Nathan Moore and operates under the sanction of the American Sprint Car Series. Rules for both tours can be found at

Nathan can be reached at (903) 780-9934 or by email at

The 2023 season will mark the 32nd year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the American Sprint Car Series National Tour, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.

For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@ASCSRacing)

Race Results:

ASCS Elite Non-Wing
West Texas Raceway (Lubbock, Texas)
Friday, July 15, 2023

Boxwell Heavy Haul Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 79-Keith Martin[2]; 2. G6-Cody Gardner[4]; 3. 74B-John Carney II[6]; 4. 42-Caleb Saiz[1]; 5. 77-Colt Treharn[3]; 6. 38-Travis Oldfield[5]; 7. (DNS) 57P-Peter Walker; 8. (DNS) 63-Chris Williams

Texas Aeroplastics Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 44-Jason Howell[4]; 2. 21-Caleb Stelzig[5]; 3. 72-Gary Floyd[2]; 4. 20-Shon Deskins[3]; 5. 57-Chase Parson[6]; 6. 38B-Bryson Oeschger[1]; 7. 48-LJ Moore[7]

M1 Fabrications Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 16-Anthony Nicholson[4]; 2. 45X-Don Grable[2]; 3. 1-Paul White[5]; 4. 6-Christian Moore[1]; 5. 2-Michael Fanelli[3]; 6. (DNF) 10-Bryan Debrick[6]; 7. (DNS) 1W-BP White

Top Choice Masonry A Feature (20 Laps): 1. 74B-John Carney II[4]; 2. 21-Caleb Stelzig[2]; 3. 16-Anthony Nicholson[1]; 4. G6-Cody Gardner[6]; 5. 79-Keith Martin[3]; 6. 42-Caleb Saiz[12]; 7. 20-Shon Deskins[10]; 8. 45X-Don Grable[8]; 9. 2-Michael Fanelli[15]; 10. 1-Paul White[7]; 11. 77-Colt Treharn[14]; 12. 72-Gary Floyd[9]; 13. 38B-Bryson Oeschger[18]; 14. 44-Jason Howell[5]; 15. 48-LJ Moore[17]; 16. 10-Bryan Debrick[19]; 17. 57-Chase Parson[11]; 18. 6-Christian Moore[13]; 19. 38-Travis Oldfield[16]; 20. 1W-BP White[21]; 21. 57P-Peter Walker[20]

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads