John Carney II
John Carney II

John Carney II
El Paso, TX

John Carney II Sweeps ASCS Elite Non-Wing Weekend For $8,500 Payday!



John Carney II Sweeps ASCS Elite Non-Wing Weekend For $8,500 Payday!

(Image Credit: Carney PR)

Bryan Hulbert – AMARILLO, Texas (July 15, 2023) Collecting $3,500 Friday night at West Texas Raceway, John Carney II rolled into Route 66 Motor Speedway on Saturday with the ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating and pocketed an additional $5,000 in the G.W. Southwestern Championship.

His second G.W. Elkins triumph, with his first in 2015, the win is his third all-time with the wingless tour.

Going green from the fourth starting spot, Carney chased through the opening 13 laps as Keith Martin led from the start. Taking over the point, Carney had the No. 79 looming on his back bumper for several laps, but Keith would, unfortunately, see his night end on Lap 21.

Moving fifth starting Cody Gardner into the runner-up spot, the No. G6 was in hot pursuit of Carney but could not best the No. 74b for the win, as Carney crossed with 0.411-seconds to spare. The pair were chased to the checkered flag by Paul White. Making up nine spots, Caleb Saiz crossed fourth, with Colt Treharn charging ahead 16 positions to round out the top five.

Travis Oldfield, Anthony Nicholson, Caleb Stelzig, Don Grable, and Chris Williams, from 18th, completed the top ten.

The next events for the ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series presented by Abilene Powder Coating are Friday, August 11, at Boyd Raceway and Saturday, August 5, at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway.

The ASCS Elite Wing and Non-Wing Series is owned and operated by Nathan Moore and operates under the sanction of the American Sprint Car Series. Rules for both tours can be found at

Nathan can be reached at (903) 780-9934 or by email at

The 2023 season will mark the 32nd year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the American Sprint Car Series National Tour, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.

For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@ASCSRacing)

Race Results:

ASCS Elite Non-Wing Series
Route 66 Motor Speedway (Amarillo, Texas)
Saturday, July 15, 2023

Boxwell Heavy Haul Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1-Paul White[2]; 2. 74B-John Carney II[3]; 3. 38-Travis Oldfield[1]; 4. 42-Caleb Saiz[4]; 5. 10-Bryan Debrick[5]; 6. 72-Gary Floyd[6]; 7. 48-LJ Moore[7]; 8. (DNS) 1W-BP White

Texas Aeroplastics Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. G6-Cody Gardner[4]; 2. 79-Keith Martin[1]; 3. 6-Christian Moore[2]; 4. 45X-Don Grable[5]; 5. 619JR-Claudia Sigala[7]; 6. 2-Michael Fanelli[3]; 7. 77-Colt Treharn[6]; 8. (DNS) 57P-Peter Walker

Jacksonville Tool Die Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 20-Shon Deskins[4]; 2. 44-Jason Howell[3]; 3. 57-Chase Parson[2]; 4. 16-Anthony Nicholson[5]; 5. 21-Caleb Stelzig[6]; 6. 38B-Bryson Oeschger[1]; 7. 63-Chris Williams[7]

Accel Compressions A Feature 1 (30 Laps): 1. 74B-John Carney II[4]; 2. G6-Cody Gardner[5]; 3. 1-Paul White[3]; 4. 42-Caleb Saiz[13]; 5. 77-Colt Treharn[21]; 6. 38-Travis Oldfield[11]; 7. 16-Anthony Nicholson[10]; 8. 21-Caleb Stelzig[14]; 9. 45X-Don Grable[9]; 10. 63-Chris Williams[18]; 11. 2-Michael Fanelli[20]; 12. 38B-Bryson Oeschger[19]; 13. 10-Bryan Debrick[15]; 14. 57-Chase Parson[8]; 15. 48-LJ Moore[17]; 16. 20-Shon Deskins[6]; 17. 44-Jason Howell[2]; 18. 79-Keith Martin[1]; 19. 6-Christian Moore[7]; 20. 619JR-Claudia Sigala[12]; 21. 1W-BP White[22]; 22. 72-Gary Floyd[16]; 23. 57P-Peter Walker[23]

Submitted By: Bryan Hulbert

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads