Jared Landers
Jared Landers

Jared Landers
Benton, AR

Landers Sweeps Silver Dollar Nationals Preliminaries


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Landers Sweeps Silver Dollar Nationals Preliminaries

GREENWOOD, NE (July 22, 2016) – Jared Landers and Chris Simpson will start on the front row of Saturday night’s 6th Annual Silver Dollar Nationals at I-80 Speedway. Landers was the only driver amongst the 57 entrants to win two heat races in Friday night’s preliminary events. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and Lucas Oil MLRA sanctioned event will pay $40,000 to win the main event on Saturday evening.

RC Whitwell, Jesse Stovall, Chris Simpson, Jared Landers, Terry Phillips, Jimmy Owens won their respective first round heat races.

Whitwell, the former Crew Chief for Earl Pearson Jr. marched away in his heat race for an easy victory over his mentor. In heat two of round one, the current Lucas Oil MLRA point leader, Jesse Stovall started on the pole and led every lap for the win. Heat three in round one saw Chris Simpson come from the third starting spot to grab an impressive victory by more than a half a lap.

Jared Landers captured the first of his two heat race victories by taking heat four in round one. Landers, like Simpson, came from third for the victory. In one of the most exciting heat races of the evening, defending Lucas Oil MLRA Champion Terry Phillips held off current LOLMDS point leader Scott Bloomquist for the win in heat five of round one. In the sixth and final heat of round one, Jimmy Owens held off a hard-charging Shane Clanton for the win.

Shannon Babb, Shane Clanton, Tim McCreadie, Billy Moyer, Brandon Sheppard won their respective second round heat races.

Babb, in his first-career appearance at I-80 Speedway, captured heat race number one in round two. Another I-80 Speedway first-timer Shane Clanton was the winner of heat two. Tim McCreadie in only his second-ever start at I-80 Speedway, came home the winner in heat number three of round two.

Hall of Fame driver Billy Moyer came from third to win heat number four. Brandon Sheppard, who did not finish his heat in round one due to mechanical issues, stormed to the victory in heart number five. The twelfth and final heat of the night went to Jared Landers, who came from seventh to win and earn the pole position for Saturday night’s finale.

On Saturday, the Pit Gates will open at 3:00pm, followed by General Admission opening at 4:00pm. B-Mains for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will begin at 7:30pm.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, July 22nd, 2016
6th Annual Silver Dollar Nationals
I-80 Speedway – Greenwood, NE

Eibach Springs FIRST ROUND Heat Race #1 Finish: RC Whitwell, Earl Pearson, Jr., Dennis Erb, Jr., Ryan Gustin, Tyler Erb, Jake O'Neil, JC Wyman, Mike Marlar, Mark Dotson, Cale Osborn

FK Rod Ends FIRST ROUND Heat Race #2 Finish: Jesse Stovall, Clay Daly, Chad Simpson, Billy Moyer, Tommy Weder, Al Humphrey, Bryon Allison, Brad Perdue, Brantlee Gotschall, John Duty-DNS

Simpson Performance Products FIRST ROUND Heat Race #3 Finish: Chris Simpson, Austin Smith, Brent Larson, Darrell Lanigan, Jason Papich, Shannon Babb, Tad Pospisil, Austin Siebert, Mike Stadel, Heath Clausen-DNS

QA1 FIRST ROUND Heat Race #4 Finish: Jared Landers, Brian Shirley, Tim McCreadie, Ben Schaller, Kyle Berck, Randy Timms, Bill Leighton, Jr., Josh Most, Bob Milander-DNS

Malvern Bank FIRST ROUND Heat Race #5 Finish: Terry Phillips, Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Mars, Justin Duty, Don O'Neal, Andrew Kosiski, Colton Flinner, Brandon Sheppard, John Hampel

Strobel Manufacturing FIRST ROUND Heat Race #6 Finish: Jimmy Owens, Shane Clanton, Jonathan Davenport, Frank Heckenast, Jr., Matt Buller, Chase Junghans, Rodney Sanders, Dave Eckrich, Junior Coover

Eibach Springs SECOND ROUND Heat Race #1 Finish: Shannon Babb, Ryan Gustin, Jimmy Mars, Jason Papich, Bill Leighton, Jr., Frank Heckenast, Jr., Ben Schaller, Andrew Kosiski, Al Humphrey

FK Rod Ends SECOND ROUND Heat Race #2 Finish: Shane Clanton, Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Terry Phillips, Tyler Erb, Randy Timms, Bryon Allison, Austin Siebert, Bob Milander-DNS

Simpson Performance Products SECOND ROUND Heat Race #3 Finish: Tim McCreadie, Scott Bloomquist, Dennis Erb, Jr., Darrell Lanigan, Dave Eckrich, Austin Smith, Brad Perdue, Mark Dotson, Brantlee Gotschall-DNS

QA1 SECOND ROUND Heat Race #4 Finish: Billy Moyer, Rodney Sanders, Jake O'Neil, Matt Buller, Earl Pearson, Jr., Kyle Berck, Clay Daly, Brent Larson, Colton Flinner, Mike Stadel

Malvern Bank SECOND ROUND Heat Race #5 Finish: Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Owens, Mike Marlar, Brian Shirley, Jesse Stovall, Tommy Weder, Don O'Neal, Tad Pospisil, JC Wyman, Junior Coover-DNS

Strobel Manufacturing SECOND ROUND Heat Race #6 Finish: Jared Landers, Jonathan Davenport, John Hampel, Cale Osborn, Justin Duty, RC Whitwell, John Duty, Josh Most, Chase Junghans, Heath Clausen

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads