Jared Landers
Jared Landers

Jared Landers
Benton, AR

Landers Lands First Lucas Oil Victory of 2016


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Landers Lands First Lucas Oil Victory of 2016

WHEATLAND, MO (May 27, 2016) – Jared Landers held off a late-race charge from Scott Bloomquist to win his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature of the season on Friday Night at Lucas Oil Speedway. Landers took the lead on lap ten after a great battle with Tim McCreadie and led the remaining 30-laps to win the Tribute to Don and Billie Gibson.

Landers and Bloomquist, both driving Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars with power from Andy Durham Racing Engines, led Tim McCreadie, 10th starting Jimmy Owens, and 15th starting Steve Francis to the finish line.

“We had a good car last night, but we had a lot of bad luck. We proved tonight we have a good race car. We needed this win for the Crop Production Services, Mark Martin Automotive, Bad Boy Mowers, ASC Warranty team. We know we can do it as a team. We just love running here at Lucas Oil Speedway. I want to thank Jason Durham and all of the crew, they have worked their tails off this year,” said the 34-year-old in Lucas Oil Victory Lane.

“We wasn’t going to race today after my dad [Lance] and I talked last night. But today we got together as a team and this is what happens when we all work together,” said Landers who captured his first LOLMDS win since last September at Knoxville (IA) Raceway.

Bloomquist who suffered from transmission issues last night, came back tonight to score a runner-up finish. “I am glad that Jared [Landers] won. His crew works real hard on their car and tonight it looked like from my vantage point they had it going their way. They had some problems last night just like we did. We both rebounded well tonight and hopefully this sets us up to battle for the win here tomorrow night.”

Bloomquist’ Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Company and Mark Martin Automotive sponsored car came into the event 19th in points after Thursday night’s finish. “We won with this car in Batesville back in April and in Ohio a few weeks ago.”

McCreadie, in only his third career race at Lucas Oil Speedway, was pleased with his performance in the Sweeteners Plus/Longhorn. “It’s a racy joint, no doubt about it. We had fun out there tonight. It feels good to run up front with these guys. We had some bad luck last night, but that is a part of it. I have to get better through the chop. I wheel hopped a few times. We are working our tails off. We have a program that we can work with. We are having a good time doing it.”

Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Will Vaught, Chad Simpson, Jake O’Neil and Jonathan Davenport.

In preliminary action, # set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group #) amongst the 56 entrants, with a lap of # seconds. # set the fastest time in Group # with a time of # seconds. Tim McCreadie, Jared Landers, Billy Moyer, Darrell Lanigan, Jonathan Davenport and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Jesse Stovall, Will Vaught, and Chris Brown won their respective B-Mains.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, May 27th, 2016
Tribute to Don and Billie Gibson
Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, MO

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Tim McCreadie / 14.927 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jason Rauen / 15.015 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Tim McCreadie, Brandon Sheppard, Tony Jackson, Jr., Jesse Stovall, Tommy Weder, Colton Flinner, Bobby Pierce, Kyle Beard, Jacob Magee, Richard Kimberling

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jared Landers, Garrett Alberson, Steve Francis, Matt Furman, Gavin Landers, Chris Simpson, Jack Sullivan, Hunter Rasdon, Payton Looney

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Billy Moyer, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chris Spieker, Mason Oberkramer, Josh Poe, Austin Siebert, Brian Birkhofer, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jeremy Payne

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Darrell Lanigan, Don O'Neal, Jake O'Neil, Will Vaught, Jason Rauen, Jason Papich, JC Wyman, Tad Pospisil, Tanner Kellick, RC Whitwell-DNS

ASi Racewear Products Heat Race #5 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Jimmy Owens, Robert Baker, Chris Brown, Shannon Babb, Scott Lewis, Wendell Wallace, Ryan Gustin, Timothy Culp

DirtOnDirt.com Heat Race #6 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Chad Simpson, Terry Phillips, Tyler Reddick, Brantlee Gotschall, Bryon Allison, Dave Eckrich, Reid Millard, Justin Kay

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Jesse Stovall, Jack Sullivan, Bobby Pierce, Tommy Weder, Gavin Landers, Matt Furman, Colton Flinner, Kyle Beard, Jacob Magee, Richard Kimberling, Chris Simpson-DNS, Hunter Rasdon-DNS, Payton Looney-DNS

Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Will Vaught, Jason Rauen, Jason Papich, JC Wyman, Austin Siebert, Josh Poe, Tad Pospisil, Earl Pearson, Jr., Tanner Kellick, Mason Oberkramer, Brian Birkhofer, Jeremy Payne-DNS, RC Whitwell-DNS

ProtectTheHarvest.com B-Main #3 Finish (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer): Chris Brown, Brantlee Gotschall, Tyler Reddick, Scott Lewis, Ryan Gustin, Shannon Babb, Wendell Wallace, Bryon Allison, Dave Eckrich, Justin Kay, Timothy Culp, Reid Millard-DNS

Feature Finish (40 Laps):
1 3 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR $6,000
2 6 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $3,000
3 1 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $2,250
4 10 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $1,500
5 15 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $1,250
6 11 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $1,000
7 20 1V Will Vaught Crane, MO $950
8 12 25 Chad Simpson Mt. Vernon, IA $900
9 14 J0 Jake O'Neil Tucson, AZ $850
10 4 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $800
11 5 21 Billy Moyer Batesville, AR $700
12 8 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $600
13 2 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $600
14 18 75P Terry Phillips Springfield, MO $600
15 13 56 Tony Jackson, Jr. Lebanon, MO $600
17 9 F5 Garrett Alberson Shreveport, LA $600
17 19 0 Jesse Stovall Billings, MO $600
18 7 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $600
19 16 17m Robert Baker Alexander, AR $600
20 21 21B Chris Brown Spring, TX $600
21 22 18X Jack Sullivan Greenbrier, AR $600
22 23 98 Jason Rauen Farley, IA $600
23 17 56S Chris Spieker Massena, IA $600
24 24 4G Brantlee Gotschall Nevada, MO $600

Race Statistics
Entrants: 56
Lap Leaders: Jared Landers (Laps 1 – 2); Tim McCreadie (Lap 3); Jared Landers (Lap 4); Tim McCreadie (Laps 5 – 7); Jared Landers (Lap 8); Tim McCreadie (Lap 9); Jared Landers (Laps 10 – 40)
Cautions: Brantlee Gotschall (Lap 22)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Jared Landers
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Will Vaught (Started: 20th; Finished: 7th; Advanced 13 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jonathan Davenport
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Steve Francis
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jared Landers
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Colton Flinner
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Andy Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jason Durham (Jared Landers)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Jared Landers (Lap #777 – 15.4852 seconds)
Most Laps Led: Jared Landers
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Brantlee Gotschall
Time of Race: 14 minutes 59 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News

Build your brand with MRP Digital Ads